The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Webspace "Users"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Huminie, Feb 18, 2004.

1. Huminie

Huminie Member

Hi Folks,

I am fairly new to using cPanel after having used Plesk and hSphere first.

I am looking to accomplish something that I know I was able to do in Plesk in the past.

I want to be able to grant people the ability to upload content (pictures mostly) to their own little piece of webspace without needing a whole account.

I know how to set up FTP accounts which are limited to one directory only, but I also need to be able to limit the amout of diskspace they are entitled to. (Transfer is not so important to me, but would be nice.)

In Plesk I was able to create "sub accounts" with a URL like "www.mydomain.com/~username" I would also be open to subdomains, but again, need to limit the allowed disk space.

Does cPanel allow this? I also have WHM access and full server root access as well.

TIA for your time!

(BTW...the reason for this is that I run a forum where people like to upload sig images, and post pictures. The members are getting there own webspace elsewhere and I would prefer to have them upload to the server direct in order to improve page loading...free webhosts tend to be flakey at best. I would prefer they load there images direct to my server to reduce this load time and make things run smoother. Obviously I need to make sure they don't upload gigs of data if left wide open.)

2. Huminie

Huminie Member

I guess this is either a dumb question, or I have stumped everyone.

Any ideas?

3. anand

anand Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider