The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weekly backups and Bandwidth data

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bdzzld, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    Ever since our servers were upgraded to cPanel 11 the weekly backups logs show the following :

    Code:
    ...
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 6.0 - running with uid 0
    using time::hires for speedups
    Copying Reseller Config...Done
    Copying SSL Certificates, CSRS, and Keys...Done
    Copying Counter Data....Done
    Copying Bandwidth Data....cp: cannot create regular file `/backup/cpbackup/weekly/SOMEACCOUNT/bandwidth/SOMEACCOUNT': No such file or directory
    ...
    
    For some reason (because there's no path bandwidth?) it's unable to backup the weekly bandwidth usage of each account on the server. Is this a know problem/bug?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't see an entry for such a bug in bugzilla nor do I recall the developers recently working on fixing such an issue. I'd recommend submitting a support ticket regarding this issue so it can be determined what is causing this.
     
  3. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi David,

    I've checked to be on the safe side and it's occurring on all of our cPanel servers during a weekly backup. Our servers currently run :

    Code:
    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.10.0-S16448
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 x86_64 - WHM X v3.1.0
    
    Maybe it has something to do with x86_64 ?

    Regards.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm only speculating that it might. Even though we have many customers running x86-64 systems, since there's still fewer x86-64 users than i386 users, bugs are less likely to be reported or detected by our staff in the overall course of working on support tickets.

    I still recommend submitting a support ticket regarding this issue in case it is a bug that it can get fixed.
     
  5. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nope, as far as I know it's still not been fixed.
    Currently runinng :
    Code:
    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-S16999
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 x86_64 - WHM X v3.1.0
    
    Newer version than previously mentioned but still the same bug.
     
  6. linux.newbie

    linux.newbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ticket time....:)
     
  7. filth

    filth Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am experiencing the exact same problem and my versions are:-

    WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.11.0-S16999
    FEDORA 2 i686 - WHM X v3.1.
     
  8. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This was fixed in Current and EDGE in build 17307. Stable and Release will receive the fixes at a later date.
     
  10. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It's not fixed at all... :(
    Recently the servers were upgraded to a newer STABLE version and the problem still exists...

    I reopened forementioned ticket.
     
    #10 Bdzzld, Nov 22, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2007
  11. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Why does it have to take this long before it's released in the STABLE version ? This bug was mentioned almost THREE months ago and have been in cPanel far longer. Besides that, two new versions of STABLE have been released in the mean time, without this bugfix.
     
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Keep in mind that STABLE will always be the last version to receive any bug patch as it must meet the quality standards for STABLE set by the QA team before it will reach STABLE. Patches and feature enhancements typically take a while to reach STABLE.
     
  13. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For anyone else with this issue. I do not know if it was fixed then cropped back up but we are also having this issue and opened a new bug on it. Bug#: 6292
     
  14. HostIt

    HostIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The fix I've found for this issue was to simply remove all of the backup data and run cpbackup with a clean /backup directory. I've only run cpbackup once so far, but it is now backing up the bandwidth data without error. I'll post back here if it breaks on the second backup tomorrow night, but it looks positive so far :)
     
  15. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Removing all your backup data to get a *bug* fixed is definitely something you should not do... :eek:
    cPanel has to come up with a solution, which is probably just to create the (sub)directory before writing to it...
     
  16. HostIt

    HostIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well sure, however seeing as the bug is "resolved" and this thread has been sitting for some time I just figured I'd look for a fix, which can often be found with a clean slate - in this case allowing the current version of cpbackup to run from scratch. Sure enough it was. Having current off-site backups (which any host worth their salt should have) meant there was no risk involved for me whatsoever. Of course as with anything, everybody will need to weight up the pros and cons of doing this for themselves. An alternative may certainly be to try a "mkdir /backup/cpbackup/weekly/*/bandwidth" or something. I was happier just getting everything clean and fresh to be sure my backup data is the best possible.
     
Loading...

Share This Page