The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird behaviour with apache 1

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by kctt, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. kctt

    kctt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17997

    When i install apache 1 and php4/php5, all post methods are ignored, like forms, login

    After submitting, it will do nothing or show blank page.

    Install apache 2 and php4/php5/php4&php5 fix the POST issue but cpanel crash every 15 minutes or so.

    Memory usage is about 80% more than apache 1

    I'm using the 14 days test license.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you submitted a support ticket regarding this issue so our support team can look into this for you?

    These are the community forums and our support staff doesn't routinely monitor these forums.
     
  3. salubrium

    salubrium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apache 1.3 issues after latest easyapache update

    I rebuilt Apache 1.3 two days ago and have major grief since. I had the above problem but my php5 runs as a CGI with a wrapper. PHP4 post variables were working just PHP5's weren't. This meant session variables for logins etc weren't working. The problem was mod_bandwidth - apparently mod_bandwidth needs to be the lowest priority or else it intercepts the post variables for the CGI wrapper. To make mod_bandwidth the lowest priority, the apache configure has to have mod_bandwidth applied as the first argument ie: ./configure --mod_bandwidth

    I have just commented out the entries to mod_bandwidth at the moment which fixed my issue and haven't tried the above.

    My other issue is Apache just suddenly starts grabbing chunks of memory ie: 1 child grabs over 1gb of memory even though I have RLimitMEM 291740330 in place.

    What happens is that it starts to use swap and while this is happening, it's thrashing the disk so much so that the load exceeds 100 and services start crashing. Unless I restart apache. Prior to this my load rarely exceed 1.8...
     
  4. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    With the POST variables being lost, it sounds like you need register_globals On (really... are there people still coding that way..)

    Anyway, finding the /usr/local/lib/php.ini file and making register_globals On or adding
    php_value register_globals "1" to a .htaccess file in your public_html will fix that if that is the problem.

    Better to recode your scripts, php 6 isn't that far away.
     
  5. Qoneek

    Qoneek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Skierniewice, Poland
    I have same problem. PHP4 as API, php5 as CGI, fix is very easy

    http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=39647

    Mod_bandwidth blocks POST methods for PHP5. PHP4 works fine with mod_bandwidth.
     

Share This Page