The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird CPU overload when checking CPU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by martynh, Oct 6, 2009.

1. martynh

martynh Active Member

Hello,

Im pretty new to having a dedicated server having come from reseller hosting but I have a strange problem and wondering if anyone else has had this?

I have got a core2 quad core server with 2 GB RAM and is 4 days old, I have transfer all my clients to the server which there are no more than 40 accounts. this morning I did a rutine check that I always do and thats check "CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage" to see how its been going thoughout the night and I see a bit of a load show, but I when check the "Show Current CPU Usage next" it gives a load of 95.0+ and 80+ memory and I have to get my server reboot via the datacentre.

When I check "top" command in ssh I see a very high load & memory usage from kswapd0

Its really weird because the server is running 100% fine now with a load of 0.1 with memory at 19.5% but if I go to check the usage again kswapd0 will pop back and overload which causes all the other software to load too

Is there a problem with my server or cpanel, I have had the RAM modules changed but with no difference or is there a better way of getting usage details

thanks in advance!
    Martyn

2. thewebhosting

thewebhosting Well-Known Member

3. martynh

martynh Active Member

Thanks very much for that, I will try install eaccelerator and see what that does but I installed this when I first got the server but it keeps filling /tmp up and I get error emails, is there a way to round this? at the moment my /tmp is 400MB

I'm just thinking of upgrading my RAM and see if that makes a difference but the one thing I dont understand is I have come from a reseller account with less specs than my server and his server was never down.