The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird DNS Issue - DNS Entry for customer pointed to old NS?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hoobastank68, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. hoobastank68

    hoobastank68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Somehow lately few customers accounts have their DNS Entry on our server pointed to their previous host's DNS

    For example, a user's domain used to be with yahoo.com

    His DNS Entry on our server shows ns1.yahoo.com. and ns2.yahoo.com. instead of ns1.ourhosting.com. and ns2.ourhosting.com.

    And this is a new account so thats very bizarre.

    The user complains not all users can load site, the domain is pointed to our DNS, but our server's DNS Entry somehow is pointed to yahoo's DNS for example, and manual editing it to our DNS Entry fixes the problem

    Anyone experienced with this problem?
    Any help would be appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Look at WHM > tweak settings > domains

    The bottom box may be of interest to you:
    When adding a new domain, if the domain is already registered, ignore the configured nameservers, and set the NS line to the authoritative (registered) ones.

    See if that helps
     
  3. hoobastank68

    hoobastank68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh thats the problem. Thank you
     
  4. hostingmetro

    hostingmetro Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not sure why Cpanel put this option in. It's on by default on all new installs and it screwed up a few customers before we figured it out.

    When would it be useful since they are transferring to us so it's no use to have the old ns line records.
     
  5. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Agreed. Thank you cPanel for:

    1. Forcefully imposing this feature onto your customer base by making it a default, and, on top of that,
    2. Not bothering to document it anywhere for anyone

    This feature has caused a lot of people a lot of confusion and work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page