The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

weird favicon issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PCZero, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    On my server, I cannot get any favicons to who up in the tabs for IE8. I have the wollowing code in the <head> of all pages...

    <link rel="icon" href="http://www.mydomain.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mydomain.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />

    The favicon shows perfectly in FF but not IE.

    I then went to another site foo.com, not on my server) and their favicon showed up in FF and IE. I changed the code in my <head> to call their favicon directly from their server. Bingo it shows up in both FF and IE.

    I then save a copy of their favicon on my server change the code to call their favicon off of my server and again it breaks in IE. WTF???
     
  2. PlotHost

    PlotHost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try to clear the IE cache.
     
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    <sarcasm> wow what a great idea I would have never thought of that</sarcasm>

    Anyone have any REAL solutions.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Thank you but OBVIOUSLY the valid icon file has been eliminated by the procedures described above. The link you provided was of no help, I tried that already. This is NOT related to IE or my code. That has been eliminated by the steps I described in my OP. It has to do with MY SERVER and some settings there as it ONLY is broken when linking to a favicon ON MY SERVER.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, obviously.


    GL!
     
  7. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks for trying to help anyway... I appreciate it.
     
  8. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would suggest that you check Apache eror log and mod_security log, but obviously you have checked them already :p
     
  9. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    1) Touche'
    2) Yeah they were checked but just for grins I looked again. Not a thing in there related to favicon.

    This really seems odd to me. Why would an exact copy of the favicon that is on (and called form) the remote site work but when it is on and called from my server it does not work? If I had another box to test it on I'd upload a file there calling the favicon off of my server and see what happens.
     
  10. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    OK here is a little more info that leads me to believe that the issue is related to my web server...

    Web page stored on on my server:
    calls favicon on another server -> favicon shows in tab
    calls copy of other servers favicon on my server -> favicon does not show in tabs

    Web page store on another server:
    calls favicon locally from the other server -> favicon shows in tab
    calls copy of the other servers favicon from my server -> favicon does not show in tabs


    It seems to me that it has to be something to do with teh way my server is handling favicons for IE8. Can someone point me in the direction of where this might be happening?
     
Loading...

Share This Page