The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird issues with wildcard sub domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HH-Steven, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, ive setup WPMU on a domain, the whole setup seems ok and blogs are created on subdomains.

    Now, i know your thinking this is a WMPU issue but bear with me as its not, its VHosts or DNS related.

    Most of the time the subdomains work correctly and go to the correct blog, any other sub domains go to main site which is how it should work.

    Every so often the subdomains will stop working and return a 404 error, sometimes 502 (Bad Gateway).

    To fix this i have to edit the DNS for the site and change:

    * 14400 IN A 0.0.0.0

    to:

    *.domain.tld. 14400 IN A 0.0.0.0

    (ive changed the IP myself obviously)

    After which i:

    service named restart
    service httpd restart

    Then i flush my dns and alls ok again.

    The only things i notice in all this is that the *.domain.tld. in the DNS entry always changes back to *

    and pinging the sub domain returns:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Steven>ping sub.domain.tld
    Ping request could not find host sub.domain.tld. Please check the name and try again.

    Its also worth mentioning that when the subdomains stop working the main domain.tld still works without any problems.

    So there you have it, and please correct me if im wrong but this seems to be either VHosts or DNS related so any suggestions are more than welcome.

    Cheers.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Quick question, did you also add a wildcard subdomain via the cPanel interface? What is your full cPanel/WHM version information?
     
  3. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Adding the subdomain * with Document Root: /public_html/ returns:

    There was a problem creating the sub-domain.

    Error from domain wrapper: Domain already exists, it was not added.: *.domain.tld

    There are no subdomains in the domains cpanel.

    WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.6-C27698
    CENTOS Enterprise 5.2 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    Thanks for the quick response :)
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Perhaps something else is interfering with that functionality. Our technical analysts will be able to determine what that is and correct that for you. Just submit a support ticket so they will take care of this for you.
     
  5. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Done:

    Your Request id is: 319205.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page