The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird PHP errors, all over!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Redmumba, Jul 11, 2005.

  1. Redmumba

    Redmumba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Every single script related to PHP has apparently started displaying errors left and right--but not always and not always in the same way. I started to recompile Apache--to enable GD support--but before it had even finished recompiling, everything was dead.

    http://www.point-blank.cc/ -- My own scripts
    http://forums.point-blank.cc/ -- IB
    http://gallery.point-blank.cc/ -- Gallery 1.5

    ...and so on. What the hell is going on!???! Thanks for any help anybody can give!

    Redmumba
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to provide much more information if anyone is going to be able to make any suggestions:

    1. When you rebuilt apache/php were there any errors show? If so, what were they? If you don't have them still, rebuild again.

    2. What errors do you get in your apache error_log when you try to run a php script?

    3. Have you installed any php accelerators or other such additional modules?
     
  3. Redmumba

    Redmumba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's the thing... it ws actually still compiling Apache when it started doing that, so I don't understand HOW it happened. I was recompiling (and have recompiled a few tmes since), and there were absolutely no errors. I've tried PHP 4.3.11 and 4.4.0. Once again, there were no errors.

    Anyways, its like it can't see other files, even though their ownerships are properly set. Here's a short sampling of the error_log:

    Its like most of PHP's functions have disappeared! There aren't any accelerators, but isn't Zend installed by default? Again, I haven't _touched_ anything for literally months, and I haven't made any changes at all in that time.

    One thing, I _did_ try this: http://corefonts.sourceforge.net/ However, I don't see how this could cause the problem.

    Redmumba
     
  4. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    did you try restarting your server?

    Also try checking with phpinfo() and see if anything is out of ordinary.
     
  5. mctDarren

    mctDarren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Zend isn't updated when you recompile. Update Zend, restart apache and bet those problems go away (they did with me).
     
  6. Redmumba

    Redmumba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How exactly do I update Zend? Which is the options do I upgrade? Do I upgrade Zend Optimizer or what?

    EDIT: NEVERMIND! Found it and compiling!

    EDIT: ...and nothing. :( Is there anything else I need to do? I compiled (./configure, make, make install), but no change. :( Restarted, recompiling Apache now but I doubt it'll work... Also, maybe this can help: http://www.point-blank.cc/phpinfo.php

    I know exactly what's happening, but not how or why. Basically, the programs can't seem to access other programs or files. In the SQl problems, they can't SELECT the information from the database. For Gallery and what not, it can't select data from the files. In the case of a BT tracker I had up, it can't access bnbt.cfg, so it keeps using "default" values. All permissions are set right, but why is it doing this all of a sudden?

    I'm compiling it with PHP5, just to see. No idea what to do though... nothing I do seems to make it better or worse! :(
     
    #6 Redmumba, Jul 12, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2005
  7. Redmumba

    Redmumba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, I upgraded to PHP 5.0.3 and the problems are mysteriously gone. What's with this???

    Redmumba
     
  8. Redmumba

    Redmumba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry to triple post, but nix that... they're not gone at all. The tracker is still having problems... http://bt.point-blank.cc :(
     
  9. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hi,
    on one of our servers we have problem with some php installation. It comes up with an error:
    Warning: Smarty error: unable to read resource: "./install/step1.tpl.html" in /home/xxxxx/public_html/shop/smarty/smarty.class.php on line 1088

    I have recompiled PHP several times (tried with 4.4.0 and 4.3.11) and Zend is the latest one (2.5.10a). Nothing.. Does anyone of you have a good working solution?

    Anton.
     
  10. ng4host

    ng4host Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I belive that disable ioncube from tweak settings will fix that problem

    -Mohamed
     
Loading...

Share This Page