The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird problem with using code editor provided by cpanel ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lachezar, Aug 20, 2012.

Tags:
  1. lachezar

    lachezar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi all,

    First question/post here!

    So i am using the code edititor provided by cpanel, it works nice and colors the key words
    but very often when i click on a row, there is a "mirror" shadow of the current row somewhere below or above
    and make it a bit confusing does it make sense? is it a known thing? use google chrome
    so i am not sure if it browser thing?

    Can anyone give me an idea what i should do to fix it?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you duplicate the behavior in another browser or does it just happen in Chrome?
     
  3. lachezar

    lachezar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I just tried to open it in Mozilla and seems fine and chrome is still having the same issue.

    It might be just chrome thing. I like chrome better in general but i guess i will use something else when use the code editor.

    I will be surprised if no one else has experienced the same issue since i have had the same problems on different computers that have chrome.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you do open up a ticket for the bug report, please provide a screen shot here or in the report. I'm not entirely certain what you are seeing. Please post a comparison screen print in Firefox for the same screen.
     
  6. lachezar

    lachezar Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner

    so i have submitted that bug report and this is the screen shot:

    Heliohost.jpg

    Thanks
     
  7. cPJerry

    cPJerry Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy!

    In the submitted ticket, the resolution in the end was to save the file, and click the reopen button.

    Iachezar reported he did not need to save the file, however I would recommend doing so if only as a sanity check to ensure changes are not lost when re-opening the file.

    Thanks!
     
  8. SeanMw

    SeanMw Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am having the same problem.

    The resolution provided above is not ideal.

    When you click the reopen button the problem goes but the page is no longer in code editor mode (no colour formatting).
     
  9. cPJerry

    cPJerry Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When that happens simply press "Use code editor"

    If you can find a way to repliably reproduce the issue, you should open a ticket, and include the steps. Ive seen it happen, but its random.
     
  10. TRipk

    TRipk Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yeah I keep getting this game glitch as well.. It seems that the code editor loads the page a second time and makes a kind of "overlay" or ghost copy of it.. Everytime I click on a line it duplicates it further down each line.
     
  11. alfredoborrero

    alfredoborrero Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am having the same issue. This is very annoying actually.
    I am using Google Chrome on Windows 7; now if I use Firefox it seems to work fine however is very very slow.
    If I click "save" and "re-open" it will re-open it in the regular text editor without coloring and that's exactly what we all want.
    I think the problem occurs when we have a long code, and by long code i meant more than 100 lines of code.
     
  12. alfredoborrero

    alfredoborrero Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Guys !!!
    I just installed Opera (Internet Browser) and works perfect !!!
    I guess it is a Google Chrome Issue or incompatibility
    Cheers :)
     
  13. brt

    brt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    MN
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also having this problem, but only sometimes. Haven't nailed down a trigger for it yet. I'm posting this in both related threads.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you let us know which version of cPanel is installed on your system?

    Thank you.
     
  15. limeygent

    limeygent Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I believe your problem is caused by the zoom in / zoom out feature of Chrome (I think Firefox also has this ability). This problem bugged me for months and I accidentally found the solution.

    In Chrome, press CTRL and the "+" key. Or you might need to do CTRL and the "-" key

    Watch for a small pop up on the right side of the address bar. It will say something like "zoom 110%" along with a button "reset to default". You want this to be 100%. I believe the code editor overlays the colors / font changes and does not resize when the browser zooms in or out.

    So use the CTRL and "-" or "+" keys to resize it to 100% or click on the "reset to default" when it appears (it disappears quite quickly)

    Hope this helps.
     
  16. windowinspect

    windowinspect Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    This happens in Chrome Window 10. I didn't get this problem in Chrome Window 7 though.
    It also works find in Microsoft Edge.
     

    Attached Files:

    #17 windowinspect, Oct 20, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2016
  17. Padmalochandas

    Padmalochandas Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hare Krishna.

    APPARENT CAUSE OF PROBLEM:
    It is caused because of one line (or more of such lines) anywhere on the page. Below that particular line, the spoils happen.

    RESOLUTION (MORE OF A WORKAROUND):
    Delete the line or modify it till the ghost images below it vanishes.

    REPLICATE THE PROBLEM LIKE THIS:
    1. Make a sample.css file in cpanel.
    2. Copy paste the following line in your code-editor in cpanel. (Also include the commented symbols "/*" and "*/" and the smilie image also. Unfortunately in the forum it will translate into a smile image but is really a ":" colon followed by a ")" closing a bracket)

    Starts here
    Code:
    /* This is to remove the bottom line footer by somethi "Blahbl Bla | Blahbla Bl Blahblahb" It does not remove but makes the font size 0px and font color white (#ffffff). lol :)
    Does not matter what comes below the above line.. it will be haunted! You should have a similar line in your code below which its all ghostly. Bust the ghost maker line asap!!
    .bingo-wordpress {
      color: #ffffff;
      padding: 10px 2px;
      float: right;
      font-size: 10px;
    }
    .bingo-wordpress a{
      color: #666666;
      text-decoration:none;
    }
    .bingo-wordpress{
       color: #ffffff;
       padding: 10px 2px;
       float: right;
       font-size:13px;
    }
    */
    Ends here
    
    SOLUTION:
    Delete the first line and it should resolve. So find your culprit line and modify or delete it.

    Note:
    1. This is not a solution or resolution in strict sense of the problem, because the real problem is not the "culprit line" but (probably) something in the code of the code-editor. Hope they resolve it soon.
    2. I m not a regular visitor of this forum but just wanted to help by letting you all helpful people know of what i found. I was facing the same problem and ended up on this post some time earlier.

    Hope it helps someone. :)
    Hare Krishna.
     
    #18 Padmalochandas, Oct 22, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 22, 2016
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Internal case CPANEL-7688 is open to address an issue where the text in File Manager's code editor does not scale the same as the foreground text if you zoom in the browser. I'll update this thread with more information on the status of this case as it becomes available.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page