The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do you think about Cpanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by telman, Jun 8, 2004.

  1. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    What do you think about Cpanel?

    We are providing shared and dedicated hosting services. We used to provide hosting on cobalt servers. Since sun killed cobalt we had to choose different control panel. We decided Ensim will be good choice. After using it for eight months I had to open this topic in their forum.

    http://forum.ensim.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11391&perpage=15&pagenumber=1


    I will appreciate if I can get any feedback.
    I do not want to have the same experience.

    Thank you,

    Telman
     
  2. goyo

    goyo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I switched my servers 18 months ago from ensim to cpanel and I never looked back...
     
  3. lvkewlkid

    lvkewlkid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    I think it's great, better with Fantastico and ClientExec bundled.
     
  4. RobertOnTheAir

    RobertOnTheAir Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    CPanel has helped make my life a lot easier. I really enjoy the product.
     
  5. eazistore

    eazistore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Singapore
    I switch from PLESK to cPanel.
    I must say cPanel lives forever :)
     
  6. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ouch did anyone read that forum for ensim... It seems there user's HATE ensim LOL If I were ensim I would be a bit worried about Job stability :).

    CPanel ownz!!! We run Plesk and Ensim servers for clients who wants to use them, but we prefer cpanel over all!

    Helm is the control panel of choice for windows dedicated servers until CPanel is available.
     
  7. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am trying to install Cpanel on Fedora 2 and having problems already. I will let you know how it goes.

    Telman
     
  8. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tech support guy told me I should re-install my system and not install any updates. Install Cpanel and then install updates.

    4 hours well wasted :)
     
  9. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I noticed that Cpanel does not provide much information about install process. I sent the following notes to the tech support guy:

    -----------------------------
    Can you guys document this kind of information somewhere?
    For example: Put a note and say "installing Cpanel on Redhat Enterprise: You
    must register Redhat with RHN before installing CPanel"
    "installing Cpanel on Fedora: "Do not install any update before you install
    Cpanel, run up2date instead of yum. use cPanel for all updates."
    I noticed that Cpanel does not much information about installation process
    which makes it very painful.
    -----------------------------

    At least Ensim install is not so painfull :)
     
  10. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    is anybody able to install Cpanel on Fedora2? Second time install fails and I have not recieved any useful answer from tech support yet.


    -----------------
    ==> Post Install Complete

    Broadcast message from root (Thu Jun 10 12:57:56 2004):

    cPanel Layer 2 Install Complete
    -----------------
    As you can see Install completed and when I run cpanel set up I get the following message .



    Can't locate HTML/Entities.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.3/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.3 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.3/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.2/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.3 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.2 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.1 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.0 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.3/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.2/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.1/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/i386-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.3 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.2 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.1 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl .) at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Util.pm line 82.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Table/Common.pm line 32.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Table/Common.pm line 32.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Table/GDBM.pm line 29.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/lib/Vend/Table/GDBM.pm line 29.
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/bin/interchange line 197.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/interchange/bin/interchange line 221.
    Scanning.....Done
     
  11. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Again my system is frozen, waiting answer from tech support guy.

    It is seems to there is a demand for properly working control panel. Time to call Microsoft :)

    Telman
     
  12. kofi

    kofi Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I currently have cPanel working on a Fedora 1 box, had a few problems to start with, but got them sorted out. I have given Plesk a go, and I have to say I like cPanel much better, that may be because I am used to. I would say that all need some improvements, one thing that cPanel doesn't do (but is working on it) is the GUI, it is very disorganised and hard to find things even when you are used to it.
     
  13. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Kofi,

    Can you let me know how did you install your system?

    I installed very minumum of Fedora 2 and ran the following command in the shell.

    cd /home;mkdir cpins;cd cpins;wget layer1.cpanel.net/latest;sh latest

    I think I am going to give up and let tech support guy install it for us.

    Still I have to find out why so many problems with installer and how to install cpanel.

    Telman
     
  14. kofi

    kofi Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think we had the Default install of Fedora, and not the minimum. We were also using Fedora 1, so that could make a big difference.
     
  15. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I am installing OS 3rd time already and I am going to let tech guy to finish install. Cpanel does not say anything about software requirements so I assumed minimum install is ok and I was told by tech support minimum install should be fine.

    Telman
     
  16. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tech support guy is trying to install Cpanel and replied my email and said "gcc" is missing.
    Even tech support is not sure what their software requirement is.
    When I asked this question from tech support he said the following:

    "The prerequisites are located here: http://www.cpanel.net/install.html"

    I just called them they said "All you need is blank server"
    I asked what do you mean by blank server? "They said just OS"
    again I asked is minimum install of os is ok and they said "Yes"

    Does anybody know answer to this question?

    I have sarted install at 9AM and it is 3:00 PM, still no control panel from cpanel.

    Can we get any expert help?


    Telman
     
  17. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Minimum server install is best. No Xwindows or services are needed as cPanel installs them all for you. Less is more pre-cPanel.
     
  18. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Dave,

    Thank you! That is what I did.

    did you guys test installer on Fedora2?
    It seems to me there is problem with installer on Fedora2.

    Telman
     
  19. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In your case, I would use fedora core 1. I run it on two boxes and never had trouble.
    fedora core 2 is not really stable by now, there are some shitty bugs.

    You can upgrade from core 1 to core 2 on thy fly later when its more stable.

    and to link back to the topic: I really love cPanel, its the best product I know.
     
  20. telman

    telman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I assumed Cpanel will work on Fedora 2 because website says:


    -----------------------------------------------------
    Prerequisites for a cPanel/WHM Install:

    1. You must complete a server installation of one of the supported operating systems listed on our main page.

    -----------------------------------------------------
    I just started Fedora install 1, I wasted all my day yesterday and tech support could not install too. Now tech support guy just disappeared :)

    Probably I will like the product but first I should be able to install it and use it :). So far no luck, must be a bad day :)


    Telman
     
Loading...

Share This Page