The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What does "full backup" backup?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Boss1315, Apr 15, 2004.

  1. Boss1315

    Boss1315 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I made a full backup for my site. What exactly does it save? Does it save the mysql databases too?

    Thanks,
    Boss1315
     
  2. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    contact your host for support. if they can't provide it, find a new one!!!

    No, the "full" backup feature (if I understand you question) in cpanel only backs up your home directory.
     
  3. Boss1315

    Boss1315 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, theres a Home Directory Backup and a Full backup.. i know that the full backup stores what users go to which databases, but i don't know if it actually stores the database..
     
  4. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes, full backup stores everything, including mailman and mysql, but I think you have to get your host to restore it for you.


    Contact your host's support for more info
     
  5. Boss1315

    Boss1315 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok, thanks.. i'm not restoring it right now.. i'm just backing it up because im moving to my own server..lol
     
  6. cch

    cch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    each mysql file is 0k in the full backup.
    Does anyone has the same issue?
    how to fix the issue?

    thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page