Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHat does Optimize Website do?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mealto, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    We have enabled mod_deflate and gzip testing says our website is gzipped enabled. What exactly does Optimize Website do insie cpanel? This section says "Disabled". Any thoughts?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Optimize Website just makes sure everything is gzipped when it is sent from the server to the client web browser. Manual edits to .htaccess can be used to achieve the same functionality when mod_deflate is enabled.
     
  3. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I was under the impression that mod_deflate (apache 2) was the new gzip (apache 1.3). Even without using Optimize Website inside cPanel, gzip testing says our websites are zipped and it's with mod_deflate only. Any ideas why?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There could be many reasons, but many trace back to .htaccess files. If there's a .htaccess file anywhere in the directory hierarchy for that file that instructs Apache to use mod_gzip/mod_deflate then that would explain the functionality.

    Some PHP scripts will also start serving content in this manner once mod_gzip/mod_deflate is enabled.
     
  5. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Sounds like if websites are passed for being gzipped, then don't even mess with Cpanel >> Optimize Website? Does that sound right?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Doing so would be redundant (thus, not needed) in your specific scenario.
     
  7. hanoii

    hanoii Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I am also looking for what that setting does. It's mainly out of curiosity. I can't find where it adds any setting. I looked in the site's .htaccess files and in apache conf files and there's no reference for that setting, is there somebody that knows what it does. I can disable it and manually set it on the .htaccess file, but most cpanel settings can be manually modified as well, so I wonder about this one.
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,622
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as I'm aware when I tested it last a week or so ago, when you enable to Optimize Website in cPanel, it places the .htaccess at /home/username/.htaccess location for the mod_deflate settings not in /home/username/public_html/.htaccess location. You would want to check in /home/username/.htaccess for those settings.
     
Loading...

Share This Page