The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What happens when a domain is parked?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Andrew87, Aug 6, 2005.

  1. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having troubles with the latest EDGE with parked domains. I've double and triple checked that everything is right yet the domain will still goto the "There is no website configured at this address." page.

    I've checked that the parked domain is listed in all the following files and restarted all services, am I missing something out?

    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/named.conf
    /var/cpanel/users/username
    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    The domain is listed under parked domains in both the users cPanel and WHM yet it won't work as it should. Similarly, when trying to delete the domain, it is not removed from the following files:

    /etc/localdomains
    /var/cpanel/users/username
    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    Even after I remove these entries manually, if I goto WHM and choose the "Park a Domain" option, the previously parked (or unparked in this case) domain is listed there even though I've tried clearing all traces of it!

    This is a problem I didn't have in STABLE or RELEASE but these are two builds I cannot revert back to now because of the handling of httpd.conf

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    paste the entry for the domain at httpd.conf here.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    When you park a domain it should add a ServerAlias for www.parkeddomain.com and parkeddomain.com into the VirtualHost container of the domain against which you parked the domain in httpd.conf. You should also check that the parked domain actually resolves to the same IP address as the domain against which it was parked.
     
  4. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It doesn't but I've added this manually, everything used to work before I moved to CURRENT / EDGE. I also noticed domains are handled differently now in httpd.conf

    If the entry I manually added wasn't right in httpd.conf then the domain would not be listed as being parked on both WHM and cPanel (note that I've had to add the entry in manually although I'm 100% sure it's in the correct format).

    Since upgrading to EDGE, I've tested adding new domains to see how httpd.conf is modified, I've noticed that previously it would have:

    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com

    However, now it is only

    ServerAlias domain.com

    There are two other small changes as well. I don't think this issue with parking is a fault of my own but rather with the cPanel modifications since I was running RELEASE.

    I'll post up the httpd.conf in a bit.
     
  5. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I've editted the httpd.conf to follow the 'new style' rules I've noticed since changing to EDGE, this includes:

    - no www. entry under ServerAlias
    - linebreak between ServerName and User
    - the introduction of '/usr/local/apache/' on the CustomLog line



    --EDIT / UPDATE--

    Actually I think I just solved my own problem... it IS the exclusion of the www. before domain_b.net which is stopping it from working. Therefore, cPanel needs to add this entry itself.

    New httpd.conf:

    List parked domains from cPanel now displays domain_b.net twice, as if it were the same domain parked twice!
     
    #5 Andrew87, Aug 6, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2005
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would suggest logging a support ticket with cPanel if you haven't already, so that they're aware of the problem.
     
  7. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I submit a support ticket? I got my cPanel from my dedicated server host so I will need to contact them?

    But back to my original question, what happens when a domain is parked? The following files get modified:

    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/named.conf
    /var/cpanel/users/username
    /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    are there others? I'm guessing there's one for the zones, I'm not sure where this is located and there's possibly more activities.
     
  8. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running 10.6.0 Release now and there are still some Parked domain bugs but having editted everything manually now I don't really want to keep playing about with this; the domain name still existing in dns zones seems to have been resolved.

    Could someone possibly test parked domains please? The main problems I think I have experienced are the following:

    ---------------
    In a users cPanel, Parked domains is listed as one higher than it really is. Also the main domain appears to be Parked.


    ---------------
    Creating a parked domain creates all zones in all files, but not necessarily in httpd.conf
    When it is created in httpd.conf, it does not take the proper form, i.e.

    ServerAlias www.domain.com domain.com


    ---------------
    Removing the parked domain leaves instances in either /etc/localdomains; /etc/named.conf; /var/cpanel/users/username or /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf - I think it is just one or three of these files.


    ---------------
    Creating an addon domain makes the following httpd.conf line:

    ServerAlias www.sub.domain.com

    sub.domain.com would be the better line to be inserted


    ---------------
    If a redirect from domain.com / exists, sub.domain.com will follow the redirect rule unless /index.htm or an appropriately named file is named.

    i.e. http://sub.domain.com will goto http://www.domain.com/redirect, whereas http://sub.domain.com/index.htm will goto the correct page




    I realise I should submit BugZilla reports, but I tried this already with the Parked domains which is what I believe to the parked domains dns zone bug being fixed, I'm not 100% sure. However, obviously the other bugs weren't fixed, probably because cPanel either couldn't recreate it or because I'm bad at explaining things (I admit I can be bad at this), so thanks for all assistance anyone can give me.

    Even just helping me to rewrite the above problems into BugZilla friendly language would be great.

    Thanks a lot, Andrew
     
    #8 Andrew87, Aug 29, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2005
  9. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Parking domains should still be adding a line similar to:

    ServerAlias parktest.com www.parktest.com

    That's how it works for me on test servers. You should definately submit a support ticket if it is not working for you.
     
  10. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply Ben, how do I sumbit a ticket? I purchased cPanel through my dedicated server providor, should this be an issue? I decided to go through step by step exactly what problems I am facing with "Parked Domains" to possibly make things easier:




    01 Logged in to users cPanel
    02 Clicked "Parked Domains"
    03 Parked Domain "domain_b.com" was listed twice
    04 Removed Parked Domain "domain_b.com", no errors reported
    05 Returned to cPanel Home
    06 Main cPanel page still reported "2/unlimited" Parked Domains
    07 Clicked "Parked Domains"
    08 Parked Domain "domain_b.com" was listed twice, still
    09 Logged in to SSH
    10 Parked Domain removed as expected from "pico /etc/localdomains"
    11 Parked Domain removed as expected from "pico /etc/named.conf"
    12 Parked Domain previously listed as "DNS2=domain_b.com" now says "XDNS1=domain_b.com" in "/var/cpanel/users/user"
    13 Removed line "XDNS1=domain_b.com" manually and saved
    14 No modification of "/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf" still read "ServerAlias www.domain_a.com domain_a.com www.domain_b.com domain_b.com"
    15 Manually modified httpd.conf to "ServerAlias www.domain_a.com domain_a.com" and saved
    16 Domain "domain_b.com" didn't resolve in browser, evidence of DNS zones having been fixed since a few versions ago
    17 Logged in to WHM as root
    18 Confirmed that "List Parked Domains" does not list "domain_b.com"
    19 Confirmed that "Park a Domain" does not list "domain_b.com"
    20 Returned to users cPanel
    21 "Parked Domains" reported "1/unlimited"
    22 Clicked "Parked Domains"
    23 Main domain "domain_a.com" was listed
    24 Attempted to remove Parked Domain "domain_a.com", error message "You cannot park your main domain!"
    25 "Go Back"
    26 Attempted to "Add Domain" "domain_b.com", no problems reported
    27 Both "http://www.domain_b.com" and "http://domain_b.com" goto "There is no website configured at this address." page
    28 Returned to SSH
    29 Parked Domain added as expected to "pico /etc/localdomains"
    30 Parked Domain added as expected to "pico /etc/named.conf"
    31 Parked Domain added as "DNS4=domain_b.com" to "/var/cpanel/users/user" although there is no DNS2 present; DNS3 (a subdomain exists however)
    32 Manually editted to DNS2 for neatness in "/var/cpanel/users/user" and saved
    33 No modifications apparent in "/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf" still read "ServerAlias www.domain_a.com domain_a.com"
    34 Manually editted to "ServerAlias www.domain_a.com domain_a.com www.domain_b.com domain_b.com" and saved
    35 Both "http://www.domain_b.com" and "http://domain_b.com" goto "There is no website configured at this address." page
    36 Returned to SSH
    37 "service httpd restart"
    38 All worked as before, go back to stage 01...
     
    #10 Andrew87, Aug 29, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2005
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  12. Andrew87

    Andrew87 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks Chirpy and thanks very much Ben from cPanel support for resolving the issue so promptly. It turned out to be my own fault as the httpd.conf file contained windows newline characters for each line. I guess that will teach me to be more patient with pico hehe.

    Sorry if I wasted any support members time but thanks again for resolving the issue :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page