The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is going on with UPCP??????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mr.wonderful, Jun 3, 2004.

  1. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everyone of our boxes is having issues updating via /scripts/upcp. WGET failes to complete, have to keep hitting cntrl-c to continue and the updates gets stuck. We get booted out of SSH2. Its not just one box but every single one of them. Whats going on with the updates?

    In the contol panel for user sites we are seeing this.

    There was an error setting uids. Please have the admin check permissions on: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/mysqlwrap CP-Wrap Critcal Error (signal 13 from wrapped program)! This may indicate a corrupt admin binary in /usr/local/cpanel/bin/
     
  2. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Network? You got to be kidding, Nothing to do with network.
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I just updated an hour ago with no problem.
     
  4. 65535

    65535 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Check that your DNS server in /etc/resolv.conf is responding

    Rus
     
  5. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try disabling firewall we had this problem when running APF. If one is installed.
     
  6. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Had a server doing this last week. Do a ps -ef | grep upcp and ps -ef | grep up2date. We had a upcp get hung and it was because there was already an up2date was running and then both were stuck.
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can we get some stats on what people are upgrading.

    WHM 9.3.0 cPanel 9.3.0-E65
    RedHat 9 - WHM X v3.1.0

    upgrading to 9.3.0 (build 105) and got hung up here:

    cPanel Layer 2 Update Commencing
    ==> Installing.......
    ==> Running post install scripts....sync
    syncing cpanel binaries
    syncing perl libraries
    syncing web host manager
    syncing source files


    Top does show: /usr/bin/perl /scripts/cpanelsync httpupdate
    as running so it could just be taking a long. Not sure if because of upgrading from 65 to 105 requiring a lot of changes or not. Did do a ps -ef | grep upcp and ps -ef | grep up2date and no problem there.


    Quick update, while the update had sat at the above mentioned part of the update for 10 minutes before making this post, during the making of this post the upgrade had progressed another 4 lines further:

    syncing 3rdparty programs
    syncing cgi-sys
    syncing java-sys
    syncing web based 3rdparty programs

    Still sitting there now but Cpanel index page is showing:

    MySQL Databases - There was an error setting uids. Please have the admin check permissions on: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/mysqlwrap / 25

    and I'm hoping the update is just taking a long time and once done, will self-correct the mySQL errors.
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    'nother quick update.

    Seems it never went past where it was stuck as upcp and httpupdate went to Sleep. After killing the upcp process (use ps aux|grep upcp) to find it, and running the update again, all is well once more -- and now upgraded to E-105.

    oops - forgot to mention you have to kill httpupdate as well. And cpsrvd failed on me but no big deal to restart it.
     
    #8 Website Rob, Jun 5, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2004
  9. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont have any of the above processes running and i can assure you the next time i run upcp it will hang. Whats up with this? It needs some serious fixing.
     
  10. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Did you try ...... tracerouting to layer1.cpanel.net ? If all your servers are on the same network (bad idea IMHO) and all of them have the same problem, it could be a routing/network issue.

    So, that is why I am asking if you did:

    traceroute layer1.cpanel.net

    yet?

    Brenden
     
  11. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The process its getting stuck on is

    /usr/bin/perl /scripts/cpanelsync httpupdate.cpanel.net /cpan

    Then i have to log into another session kill it off then it tells me 100% done and continues the update. :confused: All my servers are on different networks so the traceroute seemed fine.
     
  12. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I just upgraded again from 9.3 E64 to E116. I got a longer than normal delay at syncing source files, but then it completed just fine.
     
  13. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    getting a hung upcp and easyapache !
     
  14. magin

    magin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same here

    tried to rebuild rpm db by shell and got stuck, the same with upcp
     
    #14 magin, Jun 14, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2004
  15. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    an RPM rebuild did it for me - working fine now :)
     
  16. magin

    magin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i red i cpanel faq that this can be caused cause tmp is running suexec,

    need somebody tell me what are the defaults permissions for /tmp directory 777?

    thanks
     
  17. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
Loading...

Share This Page