The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is happening to WHM ?????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bert, Sep 24, 2002.

  1. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After removing two accounts, WHM distroyed our httpd.conf file!!!

    a configtest shows a whole bunch of errors. Is anyone else experiencing the same?
     
  2. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All kinds of stuff, like there are 100 or more NameVirtualHost with no VirtualHosts. :-(
     
  3. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nope, did nothing. I recompiled apache yesterday, so I clearly remember running configtest and it being without a single error.

    Today, after removing two accounts via WHM, the problems started, upon further review, the file is completely messed up.
     
  4. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This just happend to me on two servers httpd.conf was wiped out on only 20 lines left in the file I had restore from backup.

    Something is really wrong here.
     
  5. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Glad to know at least I am not the only one. I am glad I know the inside and outs of these boxes, I will not attempt to create or terminate an account via WHM unless I know that this issue has been corrected.
     
  6. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The bad thing about this is that on a production server, such as the one we had problems with, restoring from backup does not do any good because the backup runs at 2am and the corruption occurs at 8 pm, in between we have had 8 signups, 2 cancellations and perhaps a whole bunch of users making changes, such as adding subdomains, etc.

    I guess the only way to be safe on a situation, such as this one is to run a shell script via the cron that copies httpd.conf into multiple locations, so in case this happens again we can just copy the last non-corrupted file.
     
  7. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tell me about it

    I have spent the last 3 hours putting vhost entries back into httpd.conf. And this happened on one of my reseller boxes so I had bunches of files missing.

    I have also removed the Allow Termination from all resellers WHM's until we get a handle on what happened.

    I knew somethig was wrong when I did pico httpd.conf and showed 20 lines.;-(
     
  8. blueboxservers.com

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    we found that there are lodas of NameVirtualHost repeats in httpd.conf looks like whm just adds a new one everytime a site is added or maybe even 2 or 3
     
  9. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol. two or three? I personally removed about 300 of those things all scattered across the httpd.conf, plus it removed a few entries including VirtualHost entries :p
     
  10. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It certainly adds those NameVirtualHost lines when creating sub domains within a domain account. So far they've proved harmless although they're an annoyance.
     
  11. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    is there any script to automatically remove these redundant lines?

    thanks

    - Omar
     
  12. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can write a script that will do this, but why would you want to spend time writing a script that will correct errors made by another script?

    I guess it is just easier to fix the original script ;)
     
  13. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Our file is littered too, we always have to go through by hand and edit these bad entries out.

    Very time consuming, I agree, the script should be fixed..


    [quote:3db2c3b374][i:3db2c3b374]Originally posted by bert[/i:3db2c3b374]

    You can write a script that will do this, but why would you want to spend time writing a script that will correct errors made by another script?

    I guess it is just easier to fix the original script ;) [/quote:3db2c3b374]
     
  14. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    backups

    What files should I back up regularly?
     
  15. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should back up the entire server; all the home directories and all the configuration files. If you need a complete list, let me know I think I have one somewhere.
     
  16. silvernetuk

    silvernetuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I would like a complete list if that possible.

    Also these NameVirtualHost what do I look for in httpd.conf I have been looking at mine httpd.conf and it look ok but it report in the error_log this NameVirtualHost 69.xx.x.120:80 has no VirtualHosts

    So what am I looking for ?

    Regards,
    Garry
     
Loading...

Share This Page