Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

What is /home2?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Netcrusher, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Netcrusher

    Netcrusher Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello!

    I recently noticed that there is a folder called /home2 in my server's root. It contains the last accounts I created, which were imported from backups. The folder names begin with ~.

    The folders also exist in /home. I checked apache's configuration file, and the vhosts are set on /home.

    What's with this /home2 folder? Can I remove it?

    Thank you!
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please post some of the output from /home2 to show us what it has. These could be hard links. So basically the "ls -lah /home2" output.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Netcrusher

    Netcrusher Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4.0K Mar 21 19:07 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4.0K Mar 23 04:06 ../
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Mar 21 19:04 altinyay -> /home/altinyay/
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Mar 21 19:06 bestof -> /home/bestof/
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 Mar 21 19:05 ebtrans -> /home/ebtrans/
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Mar 21 19:06 instruct -> /home/instruct/
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Mar 21 19:07 restudio -> /home/restudio/
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,571
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you low on disk space on home/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Netcrusher

    Netcrusher Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    No, not at all. /home and /home2 are on the same HDD.
    The files in /home2 are only links to the folders in /home folder.

    I have the primary HDD, mounted on /, and the backup HDD, mounted on /backup.

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1 267G 10G 243G 4% /
    /dev/sdb1 903G 8.6G 848G 1% /backup
     
  6. pak

    pak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Is there any home2 by default?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Netcrusher

    Netcrusher Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I don't think so...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice