sniperscope

Apr 5, 2011
osaka/ japan
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi all
This is my first post here and seems not going to be last one.
Anyway, i have couple of questions about WHM and cPanel.

I bought brand new server machines and installed centOS 5.5

So, what i want to do is building a web hosting company. But i am a php developer and never been behind of servers. This will be my first challenge.

Okay,
1 - what do i have to do for next step?
2 - What is WHM and WHMCS and cPanel?
3 - All those are different product or same but just name is different?
4 - If i want to buy(99.99% i am going to buy) which one do i have to buy?
5 - Which one do i have to install first?

I want to do same as hostgator or hostmonster or any other web hosting companies.

Client pay.
Information mail sent to client with a username, pass, ns addresses, ftp accounts...etc.
client go to https://somehost.com:2083
and wollaaa. Eevrything is there.
Web space is ready, mail address are ready to use, cron job, ftp, mx ...etc. everything is ready to use.

So, how can i do that. Any one willing to guide me through my rough time?

Regards

Note: i am currently reading "1000 clients in web hosting" book which is provided by hostgator and honestly i am not clearly understand everything in there.

linux-image

Jun 8, 2004
India
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
question :

1. Where do you have this server ? Ideally it should be located at a data center with good Internet connectivity.

to answer your questions :

1 - what do i have to do for next step?

Get new clients. This is supposedly the biggest challenge you will have now.

2 - What is WHM and WHMCS and cPanel?

WHM : is the control panel that you will use to create your client accounts, either a reseller or a normal client. Also, if you create resellers, they will use this control panel.
WHMCS : The panel that can be used to control account creation automatically. This is your billing arena, your customer support portal and so on.