The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is Putty asking for here?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by greenchicken, Apr 27, 2006.

1. greenchicken

greenchicken Member

2. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    does not look like its asking anything looks s like you just opened a SSH session or am I missing somthing here?

3. greenchicken

greenchicken Member

I am a newbie i need a tutorial on how to do commands in SSH, you don't know of any do you?

what I am basically trying to do is learn how to import mysql databases thru SSH

4. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    get yourself a linux book :D

wget the file from another server or use scp or upload from you home computrer

then
    resotore databse

mysql -u username -pPassword database_name < path/db.sql

see your pm i sent just a few SSH commands

5. greenchicken

greenchicken Member

Thank you very much for your help, I am currently trying to use navicat to restore database and it looks very promising, I am getting this error

[Err] 1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1' at line 6
    [Msg] Finished - Unsuccessfully

have you ever seen this or know what it means or how to fix it?

6. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I would guess your trying to import a mysql 4.0 sql file into a mysql 4.1

make the 2 mysql versions the same or use the mysql command line it will usally import via the command line

7. greenchicken

greenchicken Member