The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best way for Backup ?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by msquall, Apr 4, 2005.

  1. msquall

    msquall Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I've a lot of problem with remote FTp backup who make my server have a high load and crash.

    Anyone knows what is the best settings in WHM Backup to reduce the load ?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  2. bhd

    bhd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    JNB ZA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If backup is causing your server to crash it is probably your server load is high (from other sources) to start with. Try to determine first what other tihngs are causing the high load since backup alone usually will not cause your server to crash.

    Things to look for: Huge log files (can cause services to break), make sure analog stats is disabled, if you don't use 'locate' every day, remove the 'updatedb' in cron, don't allow users to update awstats themselves, check your mailqueue --- lots of mail can push load very high.
     
  3. msquall

    msquall Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The only thing that was not made on my server is to disable Analog. Now it's made.

    All the day, my server never goes over 1 in load.

    Can Analog be the unique raison of the crashs ?
     
  4. bhd

    bhd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    JNB ZA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Analog stats caused this one some of our servers. It is especially bad on big sites. AWSTATS is way better than analog stats anyway.

    We have it disabled on all servers. You can also disable it for a single site only if you want:

    with a text editor like pico

    cd /var/cpanel/users

    pico username

    add the line

    skipanalog=1
     
  5. msquall

    msquall Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have no crash since Analog has been disabled.
    My load don't go aver 10.0 for the biggers accounts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page