The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best way to install cpanel on a VPS (Virtuozzo)?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BianchiDude, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    What is the best way to install cpanel on a VPS (Virtuozzo)?

    Does cpanel provide either an OS or Application template for Virtuozzo?

    If not, is there any way to get an OS or Application template of cpanel for Virtuozzo?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,472
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would imagine that you would have to ask Virtuozzo those questions.
     
  3. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Since they are the makers of Plesk I doubt they would provide templates for cpanel.

    I know a lot of people here us Virtuozzo, would anyone be kind enough to share either an OS or application template they made? :D
     
    #3 BianchiDude, Nov 9, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2005
  4. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    NY
    BianchiDude, did you find an answer to this?

    I am having the same issue mainly becuase VZ does not come with up2date installed and they are not being too helpfull in getting it installed.
    Probably for the same reason you mentioned above.
     
  5. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Go with UML, its much eaiser and cheaper.
     
  6. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    NY
    Too late, already bought it :(
     
  7. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I've had to do this several times for friends. Download the latest yum RPM, install it, and then install cPanel. Be careful about the packages, however. rpm -qa | grep swsoft shows which packages were specifically packaged by SW-Soft for the VPS.
     
    #7 Blue|Fusion, Nov 11, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2005
  8. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    NY
    Thank you Richard!

    Yes i have been able to get it going with centos 3 and yum.

    In the process now of trying it with RH.
     
  9. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    RH enterprise? of the old and buggy vulnerable redhat 9
     
Loading...

Share This Page