The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is to many websites to host on a server?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by redbrad0, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. redbrad0

    redbrad0 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have a Intel Celeron 2.4 Ghz with 1 GB of Ram. We currently have 110 domains and 6768 sub domains on those domains on the server. I know you will think this is crazy numbers but we are testing out some software. All of these pages are php pages but they are pure html inside the pages except including on php file which is pure html (just to keep the left nav items correct over all sub domains).

    From things I have read it appears the limitations on the number of sites has to do with the hardware. Is this correct? How many sites/sub domains can we expect to put on a Celeron 2.4 Ghz with 1 GB of Ram. What if we jumped it up to 2 GB of ram?

    Thanks,
    Brad Wickwire
     
  2. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    it all depends on the system resources your sites are using, you could have thousnds of sites on a box like this , or just 10 running big mysql DB and so on ;)
     
  3. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Too many sites is when the server stops running properly and is using all the resources. There is no set number, you have to know how to run your servers, secure them and tune them.
     
  4. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    110 sites is about the limit of the Celeron CPUs I say. Depending how much traffic you get on them though.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You could easily run thousands of static sites on a Celeron. Or just a single dynamic one. As gorilla and kris1351 say, it's a matter of loading it up and when performance starts to slow, get another server or upgrade.
     
  6. redbrad0

    redbrad0 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is what the system shows as its resources....

    Total accesses: 3591 - Total Traffic: 4.6 MB CPU Usage: u9.42 s2.77 cu.01 cs.03 - .0498% CPU load


    The problem I am having where it makes me wonder if I have hit a max number of items is when I install a site (using a custom program we built), it does not put the correct permissions on public_html for public access. When you try to goto the domains you get a 403 error message. I have tried restarting the server and everything.

    Thanks,
    Brad Wickwire
     
  7. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Incorrect permissions on the public_html folder? http://changelog.cpanel.net/ has the following as an entry on Thu Sep 15 10:41:00 2005: "Resolve issue where new accounts home directory's permissions were incorrect.". I'd suggest upgrading ;)
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I have a box that has all static html pages and gets about 200k visits a day. It's a 512MB celery box. does fine. One site... 1400GB traffic a month.

    I have a box with 3 times the power and ram that has one site.. 150GB in traffic poorly writen dynamic site ..box is about to catch on fire.

    I have a client with a whimpy celery box that has 1300 plus cpanel sites (cps) and 75GB month in traffic. It's about maxxed out but it runs. It is all about the type of pages being served and what kind of content, synamic, static ..how much email ..all that. a # is hard to establish. It's kinda like having a big truck ..and you don't know how much it will hold or carry until you start loading it. You might fit a whole house in it ..or maybe you could fit 200k little bricks. Some combination of a small house and 50 bricks ..how heavy? how big in size? it's one of those things you just have to find out as you go. One thing is for sure ..when it starts to break down or tip over ... you have to dump some load or get a much bigger truck or get more than one truck!!! :)
     
  9. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    I've got a dual 2.8 Xeon with three high traffic sites and about 30 low traffic sites.

    The traffic patterns of the high traffic sites can vary wildly from week to week, and sometimes makes the box really sluggish. I've seen as many as 260 simultaneous connections to it, but it killed it. One of the sites was slash-dotted and we had to disable it for a day to keep the other customer's sites working.

    Since then we've been trying to find ways to cluster the features with MySQL and Front-end apache boxes. We haven't had much time to dedicate though.

    On another note, with the Apache stats showing CPU percentage and other resources. Those are also calculated from Apache uptime displayed above that.

    If your Apache server hasn't been restarted in a couple of weeks, then your resource stats will not show very accurate load for recent activity. Try restarting apache and check the stats after 24 hours.

    Chuck
     
  10. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One thing to be aware of when working out how many users can reasonably fit on a box is that users usually don't start fully using their accounts for some months after they first buy them. You want to allow for that in your performance monitoring, particularly if you get large influxes of new users.
     
Loading...

Share This Page