The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is "whostmgr2 - top ./top"? - Load/CPU randomly high then low again?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by olafadmin, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Hello I am having general errors I was hoping to get help with. My forum keeps having high load averages which cause the forum to go offline, nothing has been updated or changed recently and I noticed this started when we had a huge influx of over 3300 users online. Since though users are back down to a normal 300 ish at one time. What I am noticing as possibly off are the following:

    First I am having 7% + cpu use from - whostmgr2 - top ./top
    does anyone know what this is for?

    Also, I am having a my sql error :
    After running: ls -lh /var/lib/mysql/*.err

    I get the following:
    *forum name has been replaced with nameremoved.com *


    other invo:
    Kernel version 2.6.18-164.el5
    cPanel Version 11.25.0-CURRENT
    MySQL version 5.1.40
    Apache version 2.2.14
    PHP version 5.2.11

    Im not too great with linux and it is what is used so please bare with me.

    here is mysqladmin proc list:
     
    #1 olafadmin, Aug 16, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The quoted entry is normal to see when you are monitoring processes and CPU usage via WHM:

    You may also run "top" via CLI/SSH access using a command like one of the following examples:
    Code:
    # top
    # top -c
    Please be aware that there will always be some CPU usage for the program you decide to use for monitoring purposes; without using your CPU the monitoring program could not function. It is normal for a running process to utilize your system resources, such as CPU and RAM, but depending on the application the amount of resources usage involved may be very minimal or negligible and, to reiterate, may be normal, such as what you noticed from the low CPU usage required to run "top" via WHM or CLI/SSH.
     
    #2 cPanelDon, Aug 16, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  3. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I do monitor via WHM so I am glad that I now know it is normal, It is odd though because it shows a lot of cpu usage sometimes.

    Here is the info you asked for:

    Top

    Please let me know any other info you need.
     
    #3 olafadmin, Aug 16, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The commands are only examples of what you may use as an alternative to WHM for process monitoring; however, after reviewing what you have provided I do not see any significantly high CPU load.
     
  5. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    MySQL Unstable

    my load is usually .06 or lower. When the load gets above 4 the forum gets unstable and goes down for members and they are unable to post. if I change my UNIX settings and up the load average on the forum itself, the forum will crash and I will have to manually reset apache.

    Im not sure why it is doing this. I ran the error log for my sql due to an error I was receiving which I posted above.

    I dont see any errors in top either , but if there are no errors why is the forum so unstable? I continue to get this error in my cpu usage details:

     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What you listed is not an error. It is simply a process list showing the arguments that were passed to the process when it was started:

    Code:
    /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --log-error=/var/lib/mysql/server.forum.com.err --pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/server.forum.com.pid 
    Can you elaborate on what you mean by "change my UNIX settings?" What settings did you change, exactly? What files did you edit? Did you restart any services after making the changes?
     
  7. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I am sorry for not being more clear. On my forum admincp, there is a configure server tab. There is a spot to limit system load. It says,

    So it has been set to 5.5 so that when load jumps up the forum will go offline.

    I just really have no idea what is causing load to go up like it is though, we haven't ever had this issue before. A simple restart of apache gets the forum back online. If anything Ive posted here looks normal to you, then I don't know where to go from here. Something must be causing the forum load to go up. Usually when the load is high though, copy on any one process is 1% or less.
     
  8. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    thanks for the help im getting =)
     
    #8 olafadmin, Aug 17, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If you can obtain a snapshot of system activity during the high load that may help to narrow your investigation.

    Is the system running in a virtual environment? You may use the following command to help determine this:
    Code:
    # cat /var/cpanel/envtype && echo
    The entry appears similar to Process Resource Monitor (PRM); this is third-party software that someone would have had to manually install on the system. Reference: http://www.rfxn.com/projects/process-resource-monitor/

    I recommend hiring an experienced server administrator to assist with debugging the stability and performance difficulty; ultimately, the only way to maintain servers is to ensure they are monitored by experienced system administration personnel. You may find third-party offers or post a job offer in the following (advertising) forums area: Server Management and Server Repair - cPanel Forums
     
  10. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Load/CPU randomly high then low again?

    forum load just jumped up to 17% then dropped within 1 minute down to 7% with no other processes running other than what is shown here. I tried to get a top with it at 17% but it had dropped by the time I was able to get putty up and running. Any reason for this? I seem to be having instability issues due to load, and I just cannot pinpoint any real issue. Nothing seems out of the ordinary.

    Code:
    top - 22:29:54 up 2 days, 23:23,  1 user,  load average: 6.98, 4.74, 2.47
    Tasks: 283 total,   2 running, 280 sleeping,   0 stopped,   1 zombie
    Cpu(s):  2.3%us,  1.4%sy,  1.8%ni, 93.0%id,  0.7%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
    Mem:   8168584k total,  6336720k used,  1831864k free,   726572k buffers
    Swap:  4192924k total,        0k used,  4192924k free,  4179284k cached
    
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
     9467 nobody    19   4  157m  25m 8852 S  3.0  0.3   0:00.10 httpd
     9488 nobody    19   4  155m  24m 8176 S  2.3  0.3   0:00.07 httpd
     2706 root      18   0  110m  43m 1744 S  1.7  0.5   0:00.20 spamd
    10900 mysql     21   6  325m  78m 4324 S  1.3  1.0  14:01.12 mysqld
     9454 nobody    19   4  152m  18m 7820 S  1.0  0.2   0:00.07 httpd
    9464 nobody    19   4  151m  18m 7820 S  0.7  0.2   0:00.04 httpd
     9594 root      18   0 54284  10m 1756 S  0.7  0.1   0:00.02 tailwatchd
     1762 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.3  0.0   0:42.86 kjournald
     3466 nobody    19   4  157m  29m  12m S  0.3  0.4   0:00.53 httpd
     3817 nobody    19   4  151m  19m 9436 S  0.3  0.2   0:00.09 httpd
     7178 root      18   0  124m  23m 1720 S  0.3  0.3   0:45.60 lfd
     9297 nobody    19   4  148m  14m 4808 S  0.3  0.2   0:00.03 httpd
     9418 nobody    19   4  157m  25m 8872 S  0.3  0.3   0:00.11 httpd
     9506 root      15   0     0    0    0 S  0.3  0.0   0:00.02 pdflush
     9593 root      15   0 12872 1224  800 R  0.3  0.0   0:00.02 top
     9607 root      20   0 28468 3412 1440 R  0.3  0.0   0:00.01 restartsrv_mysq
        1 root      15   0 10348  696  588 S  0.0  0.0   0:02.38 init
    
    Also can someone tell me what this is below, I saw it for the first time in cpu usage taking 19%.:
    Code:
    /bin/bash /usr/local/prm/prm -s 
     
  11. olafadmin

    olafadmin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    im so sorry I just posted a new thread regarding load issues as to not confuse, but I see you now have replied. My apologies for double posting. I was just trying to keep issues separate. Thank you so much!
     
    #11 olafadmin, Aug 17, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  12. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Friendly Moderator Note

    It's no problem; I have merged your two threads and revised the title in attempt to cover the general topic of your inquiry. :)
     

Share This Page