The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is wrong with my server ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ShAwNz, Dec 24, 2003.

  1. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay i currently run Red hat Linux 8 on a Intel S875WP1 motherboard.... I had to load drivers etc to install Red Hat 8, and it was pretty troublesome but i did it.

    After the installation, i installed cPanel and for some reason after the installation, i can SSH into the server thru root account anymore. When it asks for username i enter "root" , and it disconnects me and the SSH program (PuTTy) shuts down.

    cPanel doesnt work either

    Anyone can help me ? Really vexed...

    Thank You
     
  2. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone got idea or can help ?

    I cant visit my whm or anything at all...its kinda urgent
     
  3. manlius.com

    manlius.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Do you have physical access to the server? or is it remote?
     
  4. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I place it in a datacenter, but i can go down there and do stuff. So what should i do now ?
     
  5. manlius.com

    manlius.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Do you have any remote admin software (ie: webmin) installed?

    If not you will need to go there and connect via a consol port.
    You will want to check the sshd config to ensure that root login is enabled. Have you tried any other SSH accounts?

    Kevin
     
  6. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i currently dont have any other user accounts....which im going to create a few more users when i go down to the datacenter.

    However i think i cant even login thru SSH....because normally when u enter a wrong username it will still prompt u for password, but in my server it just disconnects me after i enter any username.

    And this happened after i installed cPanel...any idea why ?

    And i dont have any other software except cpanel and red hat installed
     
  7. manlius.com

    manlius.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    If you would like contact me via AIM
    AIM: FCTEnterprises

    When will you be going to the DC?
     
  8. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the offer but i dont have AIM....do you have MSN or ICQ ?

    My MSN is shawnz15@hotmail.com please add me, thanks.

    I will be going down to DC 3 days later
     
Loading...

Share This Page