Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

what version of centos ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeti, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,


    i want to install the centos for whm/cpanel.

    can you recommend the stable version of centos for me?



    thanks
     
  2. chopperb

    chopperb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I use centos 5 with whm. No problems at all.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    5.1 would be best
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. webofunni

    webofunni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    California, US
    Another vote for CentOS 5 (or if you want to hang back a bit, 4.6 is a solid choice).

    We 'wub' CentOS. :D

    Rick
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. troxalias

    troxalias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    Location:
    Athens - Greece
    I have centos 3, centos 4 and centos 5 on my servers. All are rock solid stable, with almost immediate updates as they are published from redhat and complete compatibility with RHEL. I vote for CentOS 5 on any new server with no no no hesitation at all.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Currently using 4.6 on 30 servers with no issues. One of the best decisions I ever made was using centos.

    Did they do a centos 5 server cd yet ?
     
  8. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    You can get one special made for cPanel at http://layer2.cpanel.net/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. handsonhosting

    handsonhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Currently running about 25 servers with 4.x and 40+ with the CentOS 5.

    VERY stable platform to run from. Haven't had any major issues.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316

    Do you know what's the difference from this cd with the original one?
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    CentOS 5 would definitely be favored over CentOS 4 as it has the newer db-4 library which is not as prone to locking deadlocks with spamassassin
     
  12. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    No clue really, I have never had the opportunity to use it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It auto runs our installer on first boot
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66


    Hi,cpanelkenneth,

    (a)by the way,the two

    are combined " original centos+cpanel install " ?


    (b)if i download it and use it to install centosm i do not need to install whm/cpanel additionally?


    (c)i have a new server"xeon 3210 + two sata hhd + 4~8gb ram",

    i want to run is for shared hosting server,

    32 bit and 64 bit,which one will be better?



    thanks
     
  15. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Seeing as 32-bit architectures have a limit of 4GB RAM usage, you will need to use 64-bit CentOS if you plan to use 8GB RAM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not true:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

    Linux 2.6 kernels have full support for PAE up to 64 GB of RAM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. jarodlwk

    jarodlwk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    centos/cpanel dvd problem

    i used the dvd to install centos and cpanel. however, after it finished installing centos, i noticed it run cpanel install which lasted only a few seconds. then it asked for a login. i reboot the box but cpanel did not start up.

    i checked the services; named, httpd, etc. all not started up. did i miss anything?
     
  18. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    With our DVD ISO, cPanel/WHM installation commences on the first reboot. If that installation never began, you may wish to install it using the instructions provided at the bottom of our installation guide:

    http://www.cPanel.net/install.html
     
  19. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Linux+PAE still has issues for apps that use > 3 gigs of ram. However if that isn't a problem for you (it isn't for most people) then you should be just fine with 32bit.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice