The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what version of centos ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeti, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,


    i want to install the centos for whm/cpanel.

    can you recommend the stable version of centos for me?



    thanks
     
  2. chopperb

    chopperb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I use centos 5 with whm. No problems at all.
     
  3. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    5.1 would be best
     
  4. webofunni

    webofunni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
    Another vote for CentOS 5 (or if you want to hang back a bit, 4.6 is a solid choice).

    We 'wub' CentOS. :D

    Rick
     
  6. troxalias

    troxalias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens - Greece
    I have centos 3, centos 4 and centos 5 on my servers. All are rock solid stable, with almost immediate updates as they are published from redhat and complete compatibility with RHEL. I vote for CentOS 5 on any new server with no no no hesitation at all.
     
  7. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Currently using 4.6 on 30 servers with no issues. One of the best decisions I ever made was using centos.

    Did they do a centos 5 server cd yet ?
     
  8. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    You can get one special made for cPanel at http://layer2.cpanel.net/
     
  9. handsonhosting

    handsonhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Currently running about 25 servers with 4.x and 40+ with the CentOS 5.

    VERY stable platform to run from. Haven't had any major issues.
     
  10. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Do you know what's the difference from this cd with the original one?
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    CentOS 5 would definitely be favored over CentOS 4 as it has the newer db-4 library which is not as prone to locking deadlocks with spamassassin
     
  12. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    No clue really, I have never had the opportunity to use it.
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It auto runs our installer on first boot
     
  14. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16


    Hi,cpanelkenneth,

    (a)by the way,the two

    are combined " original centos+cpanel install " ?


    (b)if i download it and use it to install centosm i do not need to install whm/cpanel additionally?


    (c)i have a new server"xeon 3210 + two sata hhd + 4~8gb ram",

    i want to run is for shared hosting server,

    32 bit and 64 bit,which one will be better?



    thanks
     
  15. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Seeing as 32-bit architectures have a limit of 4GB RAM usage, you will need to use 64-bit CentOS if you plan to use 8GB RAM.
     
  16. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not true:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

    Linux 2.6 kernels have full support for PAE up to 64 GB of RAM.
     
  17. jarodlwk

    jarodlwk Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    centos/cpanel dvd problem

    i used the dvd to install centos and cpanel. however, after it finished installing centos, i noticed it run cpanel install which lasted only a few seconds. then it asked for a login. i reboot the box but cpanel did not start up.

    i checked the services; named, httpd, etc. all not started up. did i miss anything?
     
  18. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    With our DVD ISO, cPanel/WHM installation commences on the first reboot. If that installation never began, you may wish to install it using the instructions provided at the bottom of our installation guide:

    http://www.cPanel.net/install.html
     
  19. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Linux+PAE still has issues for apps that use > 3 gigs of ram. However if that isn't a problem for you (it isn't for most people) then you should be just fine with 32bit.
     
Loading...

Share This Page