The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whats causing the server load?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sheldon, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Server Load @ one time.

    How can I find out what is causing the server load at a specific time? I dont have many crons running at this point, however SIM reports high LOAD over a period of time during the night and I have no idea why.

    Any info or suggestions on this would be greatly arepciated.
     
  2. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you're running backups, it might be gzipping your site or tarring it.
     
  3. AlphaWebspace

    AlphaWebspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kindom
    I think mainly it would be a Bot

    if you type in SSH

    locate bot

    then you should have a list of areas try and found the mroe obious things bot can also open up some things that are not bots.


    Bots would be:
    in a SQL Database
    and also in a public_html directory most likely to be called bot,

    Good Luck,
     
  4. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was just saying from past experience though. The server load will jump and then drop back down once all backups are complete.
     
  5. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    yes but to a server load of 7?

    my SIM goes nuts!

    its never done this before!
     
  6. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    and.. it cant be the backups because the Cron Daemon gets emailed to me every night and its not 'waiting for server load to go down'

    know what I mean?
     
  7. oswx

    oswx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    load hign

    i want to know how program in the cpanel with backup?thank you!
     
  8. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    eh?

    say that again.. in english this time... lol
     
Loading...

Share This Page