The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats the deal with Mailman taking all the CPU ???

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by techark, Jul 24, 2003.

  1. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is happening on 6 servers now.
    Anytime anyone runs even a small mailing list to 20 users mailman hogs the CPU.

    11:20am up 7 days, 23:46, 1 user, load average: 1.11, 1.24, 1.25
    89 processes: 86 sleeping, 3 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 84.0% user, 16.0% system, 0.0% nice, 0.0% idle
    Mem: 1031300K av, 1019404K used, 11896K free, 0K shrd, 249888K buff
    Swap: 1052216K av, 80360K used, 971856K free 472016K cached



    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND

    10175 mailman 17 0 4708 4708 1784 R 91.1 0.4 1:16 Python2

    10433 info 9 0 4544 4544 2552 S 1.1 0.4 0:00 cppop

    6 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.7 0.0 101:00
    kscand

    2415 named 9 0 31636 29M 1544 S 0.7 2.9 75:29 named

    4514 nobody 9 0 15928 14M 3896 S 0.5 1.4 0:02 httpd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    restart cpanel again. Works for us when it happens.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Restarting cpanel is not a problem

    I am having to do that every few hours right now because it dies for no reason.

    That top was right after a Cpanel restart.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've seen it get stuck a few times right after a cpanel restart. Usually, starting again does the trick to get rid of it. However, if you've got Cpanel restarting frequently, I imagine you'd see more of this behavior. :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello

    I think it came with the latest update. It started up to use all of the CPU and i killed it. I killed ita second time. Then during the night it must have started again and crashed my server. I had to ask for a reboot from the NOC.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. JPmorgan

    JPmorgan BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I love it. Its taking alot of processor time and doesnt work. What a combination to a great feature.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In another thread, /scripts/fixmailman was suggested.

    This seems to help indeed.

    Also, when restarting Cpanel, manually killing the python2 processes afterwards makes them stop.
     
Loading...

Share This Page