The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's using all of my RAM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Drumrocker365, Mar 13, 2016.

  1. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm somewhat noob-ish to server administration. I have Resource Monitor on my cPanel VPS, and it is consistently saying that my server is at 94-96% of RAM usage. I recently switched hosts, on my old host I had 6GB (but regularly never used over 512MB), and on this host I have 4GB with the SAME files (but am almost using all of it). What's going on here? Any ideas?
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    First you can check the process using the below command then you will get exact idea which process taking memory.

    top -c
     
  3. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. cPJacob

    cPJacob cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    This is proper memory usage for Linux. The linux kernel puts a LOT of things into the kernel cache, for easy access later.

    The thing you *don't* want is hardly any memory cached, and it all being used. From your screenshot, everything is working properly.
     
  5. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Huh.. I learned something then! I guess my old host was just that much more screwed up (I left them since they had a lot of other problems), as I used like 512MB maximum.
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It could have been the type of virtualization
    if they were using openvz for example with the old UBC parameters will give out skewed results

    you would need to check your real memory usage via /proc/user_beancounters
     
  7. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah yes, that's it! My old host was OpenVZ, where my new host is KVM. Thanks for your knowledge!
     
Loading...

Share This Page