The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wheel Group Users

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by omicron009, Dec 20, 2003.

1. omicron009

omicron009 Member

ok, im extremely new to this and am a little overhelmed right now. My questions is simple. I want to give another use root access to the server. I went to "Manage Wheel Group Users" and theres was a list of possible usernames that I could add. I choose "adm" to add to the wheel group. now how does he login?

now when i login to the server, I use http://IP.2086. it then asks me for a username and password. And I log in. how woudl the other person login?

2. Devil Inside

Devil Inside Well-Known Member

the user can login at your server's IP with their username.

Then type the command:

su -

then the password for root when prompted.

You should also login as a user - then su - to root rather than logging in directly as root.

3. omicron009

omicron009 Member

where would to person type the command "su" ? when i go to http://IP.2086 I just get a popup login window. Theres only room to type the username and password.

also, if the user is logging in with the root password, i don't see how that is very secure. shouldn't they have there own password.

4. Devil Inside

the su - command is typed at the command prompt after logging in.

As for the password question - I'll let someone else answer. I'm not 100% sure on that.

5. PWSowner

PWSowner Well-Known Member

A super user logs in with their own password. Root password logs in as root with any username.

6. omicron009

omicron009 Member