The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

when you update PHP ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Cavaliere, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. Cavaliere

    Cavaliere Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I've noticed that 4.3.4 has been released by some days now.

    I've tried to do a system software update,
    and I also tried to run scripts/easyapache ...


    but cpanel keeps getting 4.3.3 ...
    and it won't update me to the last version.

    why ?!?

    is there a way i can *force* it to update to the latest ?

    thanks !
     
  2. gegervision

    gegervision Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same issue

    I have the same problem, but have not found any fix for it yet.
     
  3. xSaintDog

    xSaintDog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same for me and when trying to compile with GD or anything else, it fails, installs x.x.3 and does not install anything else but a standard PHP install.
     
  4. ricoche

    ricoche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm. Something must have changed. I did an apache recompile and PHP install last week and everything went fine regarding the new apache version and PHP 4.3.4. I am on edge BTW.
     
  5. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ran into the same issue yesterday when I ran /scripts/easyapache, it wouldn't upgrade PHP. But when I went to layer1.cpanel.net and downloaded buildapache.sea to my /root dir it worked. Don't know how that would make a difference, but it did.
     
  6. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    hi
    Run the /scripts/easyapache and select the option 6, when you see the php option press the enter key and you will see more options for the php. Select php 4.3.4 and save.

    which should update the php to 4.3.3 to 4.3.4
     
  7. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That didn't make a difference for me when I did that. I always update using option 6.
     
  8. xerophyte

    xerophyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
  9. Erwin

    Erwin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem.

    I cannot seem to be able to restart Apache after I upgrade to 4.3.4. I have to downgrade to 4.3.3 to restart Apache.

    I have the latest stable Cpanel, Apache 1.3.29 works, trying to compile only with GD as extra, the rest default.

    Any ideas? This happens using easyapache or via WHM. The error message in error_log when I try to restart Apache with 4.3.4 is "there is another httpd.pid... unclean Apache shutdown" or something like that. However, there is no httpd running, and Apache cannot be restarted.
     
  10. Erwin

    Erwin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Fixed it. It was because of MMCache. I had to redownload and rebuild MMCache. It works now. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page