Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Where do account holders log in ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Thunderchild, Feb 1, 2018.

  1. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So I create an account for someone, great, where do I tell them to go to log in to their cPanel?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    port 2095 for mail does not work:

    This site can’t be reached
    xx.xx.xx.xx took too long to respond.

    Try:

    • Checking the connection
    • Checking the proxy and the firewall
    • Running Windows Network Diagnostics
    ERR_TIMED_OUT
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Is port 2095 opened for incoming traffic in your firewall? If you are not sure, you may want to install a firewall management utility such as CSF:

    ConfigServer Security & Firewall (csf)

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok hold on, which firewall? on the server (cloud server) or my PC ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok thank you, well I'm running a stock system (or i assume that is what my host installed) so thought it would be all setup. I'll take a look.
     
  8. Thunderchild

    Thunderchild Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right well you know this thing where I bought a system that was supposed to just work? well no that would be too easy. So, cPanel documentation tells me to go to a certain IP:port and it does not work, I am told that I need to install a third party software to make cPanel do what cPanel says it will do and now I have this firewall I have no clue what to do with it as being linux freeware it just talks in riddles with the usual bible style documentation. I am running a stock cPanel installation, surely this should just work????
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,711
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @Thunderchild,

    The issue you are facing typically relates to a firewall setting on the computer making the connection to the server. For instance, can you connect to port 2096 for webmail (it's the webmail port with SSL)?

    As far as the firewall configuration, the default CSF configuration automatically opens the ports required for cPanel services (e.g. Webmail), so it's often suggested for administrators that prefer a user interface to manage their firewall as opposed to doing so via the command line.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice