The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where do I download Fantastico?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by brycealbright, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. brycealbright

    brycealbright Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    EVI doesn't provide a link to this source. Can't find it in CPanel forums or in downloads either.
    Do have the license from EV1, though. Can anyone help?

    Bryce
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  3. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    I am new to cpanel but I was wondering. Ensim gives powertools away for free (they used to charge for it) isnt it a bit pricy for the auto install of programs that are free anyway?

    Thanks

    KM
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Like I said, Fantastico is nothing to do with cPanel. You can get a raft of GPL apps to install under WHM > Addon Scripts if you don't want to purchase a third-party installer.
     
  5. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    I didnt say anything cpanel being related to fantastico. Just that the price was high for many free tools.
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    then dont buy it :)
     
    #6 dalem, Sep 1, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2005
  7. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I suppose this is COMPLETELY off-topic to the entire cPanel forum, but there are a few nice things about having Fantastico:

    1. It's easy for end users to install software, which creates added value.
    2. It's easy to keep software up to date, which creates added value.

    I like those things, and I only pay an additional $5/mo on my server thanks to my datacentre...

    It's well worth that price to me.

    If it's not worth the price to you, for goodness sakes, don't buy it!

    I cringe when I look at the prices for a number of name-brand products, when I've found one of my local grocery stores, and a certain other large store that has groceries, have house-brands with quality that meets or exceeds name-brand in most cases, for a lot less. So I buy house-brands of certain things.

    There are people who probably cringe at some of those things I think are better.

    To each their own.

    And this is probably a long long reply for something offtopic to begin with, but... I felt chatty. :P ;-)
     
  8. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Installatron ( http://www.installatron.com/ ) does much the same thing as Fantastico and costs $60 per licence per year at its most expensive.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's nifty, I wasn't even aware of that installer.
     
  10. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you have been running directadmin you would have been familure with it I do not know when they added cpanel to there list of OS???
     
  11. tickedon

    tickedon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's worked with cPanel for quite some time, as long as I can remember actually :)
     
  12. -jdk-

    -jdk- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Fantastico came free with my cPanel license. I pay my datacenter $20/mo for cPanel, RVskin, and Fantastico. Personally I dont use Fantastico. Most of the scripts on it have security holes. I would just download cPanel Pro addon and offer the scripts it comes with. This way you do not waste your money with Fantastico, unless it comes with your cPanel or for $5/mo :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page