The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

where does Wordpress house database files

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by cmrsf1, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. cmrsf1

    cmrsf1 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I've used Quickinstall to install a wordpress blog on my site. It shows that I have a database set for it but I cannot find it in cpanel through phpMyadmin or the mysql functions. phpMyadmin says I don't have any databases. Where would this database be located and how do I access it? My wp-config file shows the database and the site works but I would like to be able to access the actual account. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not sure what QuickInstall is exactly. In your cPanel > Databases > MySQL Databases, is where you should see any DBs listed. Or via phpMyAdmin. Curious that you don't see it there. When you login to phpMyAdmin, on left side where you see your cPanel username, can you expand that tree there to see the DB?
     
  3. cmrsf1

    cmrsf1 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Quickinstall is a program in my cpanel that allows for pretty much 1 click install of a wordpress blog. In mysql it shows the name of the database created for the blog but in phpMyadmin, it says I have no databases... I have done the same thing on other domains and those databases do show up. I did an online chat with my service provider but it was over his head. Thought I would continue to research the problem, that's how I ended up here. The site seems to work well and isn't throwing any errors but I do need to get in there to see it. Any ideas?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sure, skip the chat and open a ticket to actual Technical Support:
    /http://support.hostgator.com/articles/quickinstall
     
  5. cmrsf1

    cmrsf1 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good idea! I had asked if he could refer me to someone else but he claimed this issue is outside of their normal support...

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page