Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Where high server load is coming from?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by labahost, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. labahost

    labahost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Our server now had suddenly a permanent high load, is there a way to see from which IPs this load is coming? And how I can limit number of concurrent connections from these IPs?
     
  2. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    check apache status from WHM
    also the option cpu/mysql usage would show you the averages for all users.
    show current cpu usage would show you the processess running and what amount of resources are being consumed by each of them.

    cheers,
    mohit
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. labahost

    labahost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Sorry I'm afraid I wasn't clear, I know which processes cause high load it's mostly php5 processes. And I know which users cause this load. Bud judging by instant peak in server load I blame some new spider which started overload this server and I would like to know it's ip addresses and to be able to block it.
     
  4. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    whm apache status would show you all the IP's which apache is currently serving.

    you should also check what does that php5 load means, what files are being accessed, it can be someone attacking your hosted php script too.

    hope that helps.

    cheers,
    mohit
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. labahost

    labahost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    thank you very much, it helped, I found an IP which access 2 different sites on this server. So what can I do about it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice