The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is php.ini?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by oSM, Oct 9, 2001.

  1. oSM

    oSM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I only found php3.ini, is this the same as PHP.ini?

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/php3.ini

    I am installing some programs and it requires the path
    to PHP.ini. Anyone care to help!

    Thanks for any insight..

    [Edited on 10/9/01 by oSM]
     
  2. Karl

    Karl Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    CPanel doesn\'t install a php.ini if you want one then you\'ll have to get one from another source.
     
  3. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Karl, [quote:cd4d3d5588]CPanel doesn\'t install a php.ini if you want one then you\'ll have to get one from another source. [/quote:cd4d3d5588]

    Do you know where to place the php.ini (which directory)?
     
  4. oSM

    oSM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It works now. What I did was download the PHP distribution,
    renamed their PHP.info-dist into PHP.ini and placed it into
    /usr/local/lib/ and then RESTARTED Apache.

    Works like a charm..

    [Edited on 10/10/01 by oSM]
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    You can install run

    /scripts/installzendopt .. it will install the zend optimizer and the php.ini file
     
  6. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hello, just found this post. I too need to have a php.ini to get my phpbb board sending email.

    I looked in the /script dir and saw 2 files
    installzendopt
    installzendopt-404
    which one do i run?

    Also if i run
    <?php
    phpinfo();
    ?>

    i get this in displayed page

    \"This program makes use of the Zend scripting language engine:
    Zend Engine v1.0.4, Copyright (c) 1998-2000 Zend Technologies\"

    do i still need to install installzendopt?

    I am with burst.net

    [Edited on 10/24/01 by carpman]
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0729a07bc0]I looked in the /script dir and saw 2 files
    installzendopt
    installzendopt-404
    which one do i run?
    [/quote:0729a07bc0]If you have PHP 4.0.6 you need to run installzendopt, if you have 4.0.4 then just run installzendopt-404.
    [quote:0729a07bc0] do i still need to install installzendopt?
    [/quote:0729a07bc0]Yes. After you\'ve installed it (it only takes seconds) you\'ll get a third line similar to this (version numbers may be different):

    This program makes use of the Zend scripting language engine:
    Zend Engine v1.0.6, Copyright (c) 1998-2001 Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v1.1.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2000, by Zend Technologies
     
  8. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks, this may seem silly but how do i run the install script :P
     
  9. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Put ./ before it ;-)

    So ./installzendopt or ./installzendopt-404

    btw. since you don\'t know this I suggest you go read some books about linux pretty soon. I\'m sure most other will agree.

    [Edited on 10/24/01 by Domenico]
     
  10. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, yep i am reading all i can also putting all tips in file so i look them up again if needed.

    [quote:17f90a1911]Put ./ before it ;-)

    So ./installzendopt or ./installzendopt-404

    btw. since you don\'t know this I suggest you go read some books about linux pretty soon. I\'m sure most other will agree.

    [Edited on 10/24/01 by Domenico] [/quote:17f90a1911]
     
  11. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok thanks to everyones help i have done all the stuff and now have a nice zendoptimised box with a php.ini, which i edited with the sendmail path entry with

    /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i

    and yes un-commented the entry by removing the ;

    However i still cannot get my phpboard to sendmail, is there a script i can use to test mail? i know there is one with the win32 version of php but does it work on linux as well?
     
  12. wscreate

    wscreate Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just create a PHP page with the .php extension and include the following. Replace \"you@yourdomain.com\" with the email address you want the test email to come to. Load the page to any web directory on the server that is accessable by IP or Domain, and then call it in your browser.

    If your sendmail is working properly, it should send the email.

    ------- Cut and paste below -------
    <?
    mail(\"you@yourdomain.com\",\"Test Email\",\"This is a test.\",\"From: you@yourdomain.com\");

    print \"The mail has been sent!\";
    ?>

    ----- End cut and paste --------

    [Edited on 10/27/01 by wscreate]
     
Loading...

Share This Page