Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

where is settings file: "Service Status"?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JohnBB, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. JohnBB

    JohnBB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello All:

    Does anyone know where the SETTINGS file is for what you see in WHM's "Service Status"? Or what the name is?

    I can change e.g. "server load" settings so that the red light gif only flashes if server load is 6 (or whatever #) in WHM's "Tweak Settings," but I am looking to change the settings for hard disk quota -- now flashes red if HDD is at 80% capacity.

    Thanks.
    John
     
  2. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Please have a look at the directory
    /var/run/chkservd
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The files in /var/run/chkservd tell chkservd to monitor or not..

    /etc/chkserv.d is where the files containing the instructions are held.
     
  4. JohnBB

    JohnBB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks!
    However, the HDD space option is not in here .... these directories have:
    apache
    bind
    clamd
    cpimap
    cppop
    cpsrvd
    exim
    eximstats
    interchange
    mysql
    postgres
    proftpd
    spamd
    syslogd

    Almost all you see in WHM's "Service Status" -- but NOT:
    Server Load
    Memory Used
    Swap

    I am interested in the "Server Load" option -- not to disable it, I can do so in the reseller settings, but to change the percentage when the red/yellow button starts flashing.

    John
     
  5. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    You can edit that in "Tweak Settings" in WHM.
     
  6. JohnBB

    JohnBB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi Blue|Fusion:
    If I could, I would not have posted this here. There is nothing about HDD space in "Tweak Settings".

    John
     
  7. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I don't think that can be tweaked....
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Indeed. You can have a trawl through the chkservd perl script that generates that page:

    /usr/sbin/chkservd

    You could modify it, but it will be overwritten on the next update.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. JohnBB

    JohnBB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I did edit /usr/sbin/chkservd -- even rebooted server .... still the same. The warning button flashes at 80%, even if I set it to 90 in /usr/sbin/chkservd.

    John
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,571
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Why not clear off some space from this drive? 80% full and you don't want to be notified?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. MattDees

    MattDees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    chkserv pulls it's information from df, this cannot be editted easily for obvious reasons.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Bucharest
    in /usr/sbin/chkservd , "Drive Warning" and "Drive Critical" are hardcoded to 80% and 90%. For usually harddisks, this means lots of space (10% from 32 GB means 3GB, more than enough for server to work properly). Why don't you put these values as variables in whm/tweak settings. ?
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have you created a bugzilla enhancement request for this? If not, do so if you want to see such a feature (if it's not already been requested).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Thanks, I added that as feature request (#2933). It was not reported before.
     
  15. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Has the perl file been moved?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Dillard

    Dillard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Anyone a clue how to remove /dev from "Service Status"? It is (it is supposed to) always 100%, but customers sometimes think something is wrong :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice