The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the ClamAV Addon in WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mealto, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    WHM -> cPanel -> Manage Plugins check "Pro" and at the bottom of that page click "Save"
     
  3. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks David.

    I see pro and clamavconnector inside manage plugins. What is the difference? We are looking to install an antivirus on our server to detect and delete viruses that come in through email. If WHM has an option to install and manage this, even better. Any more tips?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you see clamavconnector, enable that as well and that will begin scanning incoming mail for viruses.
     
  5. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So enable both pro and clamavconnector? What does each do? Thanks for your help on this one David.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Pro is usually what is used to enable ClamAV

    ClamAVConnector connects ClamAV functionality with other aspects of cPanel/WHM (e.g. Exim for scanning viruses)
     
  7. mealto

    mealto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Perfect, just tried sending in a dummy virus and it looks like the system caught it. Where do we see reports and manage / deleted / quarantined viruses?
     
  8. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would it be better to simply install ClamAV manually? Would it be less memory consumption than installing Pro (waste of ram imo) and enabling it through the plugins?
     
  9. hgrfoshee

    hgrfoshee Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That does work for people who want to install ClamAV updates manually instead of having Cpanel update it for them. Many people want a 'set it and forget it' update path.
     
  10. gbh1935

    gbh1935 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did this and do not see any error messages, but I am not seeing anywhere to set options for clamav? Any suggestions?
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On the screen where you checked pro, also check clamavconnector. Try that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page