The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the httpd.conf file?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bcw, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. bcw

    bcw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where can I find the httpd.conf file in WHM? How can I edit it?
     
  2. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can't edit via WHM. You need to ssh into your box as root and you should then be able to edit /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    Naturally, I would recommend you backup your original file before making any changes.
     
  3. bcw

    bcw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I SSH the box?

    How do you SSH the box?
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If you are running a windows OS, then you need to get an SSH client (I recommend puTTY).

    You need to read through these forums for awhile paying close attention to some of the newbie and secure your box threads. Any concepts you do not understand, run a search for (either here or on google) and I am sure you will find answers.
     
  5. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You don't need to ssh into the box. You can just login via ftp using your server's ip and root password. You need a ftp manager program that supports SecureFTP, I prefer CuteFTP Pro. It is lot easier.
     
    #5 NovemberRain, Jul 1, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2004
  6. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, I can :)
     
  7. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Then you have a very insecure server. You should never ever allow direct root logins and should always require to su to root. Just because it can be done that way does not make it the correct nor secure way of doing it.
     
  8. NovemberRain

    NovemberRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    İstanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can i disable direct root logins?
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page