The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the restore option in whm? Pls help....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yeohcbs, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. yeohcbs

    yeohcbs Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry to ask such a silly question but when I log into my whm, I cannot find the restore button to do a restore of a website that I want to move to this new hosting company. I have already gone to the cpanel of the site in the old hosting company and did a full backup.

    If I can login into my reseller account's whm, does it mean that I have root access to it? If not, is this why the backup or restore option is not there? The whm version is 11.30.2 ....

    Pls help as I'm at my wits end. Thanks in advance.

    Also is there a video that I can watch on how it's done?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A reseller user who does not have full root WHM privileges will not have the Backup option available in WHM area. Without that option, you'd simply need to ask your hosting provider to perform the restore for you.
     
  3. yeohcbs

    yeohcbs Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok thx for that.. So if my new hosting company gives me the root access, is the restore as easy as just restoring that full backup file I got from the cpanel of my old hosting site?

    Also do I need to create the domain as a new account first in whm before doing the restore OR the account will be created automatically with the restore of the backup file?

    Pls advise. Thanks again for your earlier answer.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are given root level access to WHM, you can restore in WHM > Backup > Restore Backup area.

    You should not create the account beforehand. The account will be automatically created upon restoring it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. yeohcbs

    yeohcbs Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok thx.. I'll talk to my new hosting company and try it...
     
  6. yeohcbs

    yeohcbs Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    For single domain/account restore (taken as full backup in cpanel), which option of whm backup should I use?
    1) WHM > Backup > Restore Backups OR
    2) WHM > Backup > Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file?

    Another question.. If I have multiple Domains to move over... How should I do it? Is the sequence I have below correct?
    1) Make a full backup of all the individual domains/accounts in their own respective cpanels.
    2) Copy all this backups files to a location? Where should they be copied to?
    3) Use the WHM > Backup > Restore Multiple Backups option?
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is a full backup, so you'd use the one listed as full backup - Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    Also, if you have cPanel access on the old machine, you can always use the Transfers area instead, which would be quicker than the steps you've noted for making a backup, copying it over and then restoring it. The area would be the following one:

    WHM > Transfers > Copy an account from another server with account password
     
Loading...

Share This Page