The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to upload .rpm files?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RandyL712, Mar 24, 2004.

  1. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm a newbie to installing new libraries - where do I put the .rpm file so that WHM can install it?
     
  2. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    use the rpm command to install an rpm.


    # rpm -i somefile.rpm
     
  3. techboard

    techboard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    I would check first to see if it's already available in WHM under "Software" --> "Install an RPM" since if it is, you don't need to upload anything. Just select the desired RPM from the list and click "Install", WHM will then automatically download and install it.

    To manually install an RPM, for a specific location, you can put an .rpm file anywhere you want since after you install it you can delete it if you want to. I usually upload them to /tmp and run them from there. You will have to actually install it via SSH though using "rpm -i filename.rpm" command since there isn't an option to upload and install your own RPM's in WHM that aren't in the RPM list.
     
    #3 techboard, Mar 24, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2004
  4. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I need to install LAME and MAD to use Audio::MPEG, they don't seem to be on the list!
     
  5. techboard

    techboard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Audio::MPEG is a PERL module and can be installed via WHM... Just click the "Install a PERL module" link, type in "Audio::MPEG" and click "Search". You can then click on the link to install it.


    The others are RPM's and need to be installed manually. You will need to log into the server via SSH and change to a temporary directory to download them to (eg. "cd /tmp")

    You can then wget the files straight from the web site they are on. Look for a direct link to each RPM on the web then run "wget" followed by the full URL to the file download

    "wget http://www.whatever.com/filename.rpm"

    after you have done that for both, run "rpm -i filename.rpm" for each of them... You may get some dependency errors though and might have to install whatever other RPM's they need.
     
  6. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the help! I've gotten the rpm file in a TEMP directory, but when I run "rpm -i file.rpm" nothing happens at all. Weird, huh?
     
  7. murali.r

    murali.r Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Search for the rpm file( fileename.rpm) using the command " find / -iname filename.rpm" of " find / -name filename.rpm". Then execute the rpm as rpm -ivh filename.rpm.
     
  8. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, I don't need to find it, I know exactly where the file is. When I used the -ivh flag, it seems to have worked. A status bar went to 100%. That was all it showed. I'll try installing the perl module, if the rpm lib installed right, it won't stop the installation.
     
    #8 RandyL712, Mar 25, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2004
  9. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope, it wasn't installed. What the heck is going on? Is it normally this difficult to install an RPM file?
     
  10. techboard

    techboard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    If it hung for a few seconds and went back to the command prompt without any messages that means it installed correctly. I should have actually reccommended the "-ihv" switch since that invokes verbose install mode.

    Try "rpm -ihv file.rpm" and see if it spits out any messages.

    You can also see if it's installed by running "rpm -q packagename", eg. "rpm -q lame" and "rpm -q mad"
     
    #10 techboard, Mar 25, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2004
  11. RandyL712

    RandyL712 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That's what I did last night. It does this:

    Code:
    # rpm -ihv lame-20011231-1.src.rpm
       1:lame        ##################### [100%]
    #
    Any ideas? This is weird! The "rpm -q" confirms that it is NOT installed.
     
  12. techboard

    techboard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ahh..... You are installing the source code, not the packages themselves..


    Look for an RPM for each without the "src" in the filename. http://rpmfind.net/ is a good place to find RPM's.
     
Loading...

Share This Page