The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which apache version may i use to make 1000 domains stable ?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by eabhi200k, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. eabhi200k

    eabhi200k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    Need some help..
    Which apache version may i use to make 1000 domains stable ?
    as i have used the latest version of apache 2.2 and 2.0 to build apache but its not stable.
    Can any one tell me which version of apache should i use ?

    i have seen that host gator host about 5000 domains to host on one server and use apache v1, i am wondering that how apache v1 can hold 5000 domain and there server never went down...

    Any suggestions for stabling my server ?
     
    #1 eabhi200k, Jul 3, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2008
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seeing 10000+ domains on a cPanel/WHM server nowadays isn't terribly abnormal.

    Are you sure you aren't overloading your hardware by chance?

    Is this a VPS or dedicated server?
     
  3. eabhi200k

    eabhi200k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am not talking about ten thousand domains

    I am not talking about (10000)ten thousand domains, i am just talking about (1000) one thousand domains...
    as i have got that kind of hardware installed on the server

    i have :

    Dual Quad core Server (4 cpu)
    4 gb of ram

    Let me know what your suggestion for this ?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you be precise by what you mean by "unstable" - is httpd crashing? Or is the server just not performing as well as it should?
     
  5. eabhi200k

    eabhi200k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not Crashing actually

    Not Crashing actually, but in about every 5 to 6 days i have to build apache again...
    i have got some ticket raised to cpanel, but they made apache works for that time but its again unstable...

    My apache going down every time..
    and some time i am not able to even login to the whm, i have ask for reboot.

    I actually want the solution to make the apache stable and work fine for my 1000 domains, dosent matter which version of apache i am using...

    Please let me know the solution...
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are unable to login to WHM, that is not an Apache issue. WHM is not served by Apache.

    I recommend you have a professional system administrator take a look at your server, perhaps secure and monitor it a bit better.
     
  7. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
    1,000 domains is no problem, so just pick the version of Apache that is most suitable for you and your customers. All things being equal, the 2.2 series, but if you host FrontPage sites that rely on FP extensions then you may want to use the 1.3 series instead. That's the kind of thing to consider. As to 1,000 domains, that's just not a big deal.

    I agree with David about getting some management. Even if you go with PSM for $29 a month, they could at least monitor your services and give you prompt technical help, harden security, etc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page