The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which profile to use in EasyApache 4?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by vlee, Apr 5, 2017.

Tags:
  1. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am running SuPHP and just want to know which profile to use in EasyApache 4?

    All PHP Options + OpCache

    OR

    All PHP Options + ZendGuard

    OR

    cPanel Default + MPM ITK

    OR

    cPanel Worker MPM

    Which is better and faster for websites with higher traffic?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This depends on the amount of traffic your server receives and the type of content your websites are serving. Here's a recent thread you may find helpful:

    Why does MPM prefork faster than any other MPM?

    Thank you.
     
  3. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am going to test out on 1 server for few days the cPanel Default + MPM ITK profile.

    Right away I notice heck a lot less requests is WHM at Home »Server Status »Apache Status after switching to this profile.

    But there is information for those to beware of Apache Module: MPM ITK - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Warning:

    We strongly recommend that you only install the MPM ITK Apache module on a system that runs CentOS 7 with Secure Computing Mode (seccomp v2) enabled in the kernel. The MPM ITK Apache module will run on CentOS 6, but will not be as secure.

    This server is running CENTOS 6.9 x86_64

    So that is why I am it on 1 server first and watch it for security issues first.

    I have made sure that everything is set to PCI Compliant settings and secured to best of knowledge.

    I am using both cPHulk Brute Force Protection and ConfigServer Security & Firewall at the same time

    If anyone has ideas and suggestions on further security options I would like to hear them.
     
    #3 vlee, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2017
  4. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok is it just me or is there something wrong here.

    I went back to All PHP Options + ZendGuard Profile and now when I try to install certain software like FengOffice after the install it comes up with 500 Page Error.

    So I tested it on a another server and the same thing happens. Then I try installing other software and the same thing. But wordpress and Joomla installs work.

    So I am stumped why some software works fine before and now does not work at all and brings up a 500 Page Error.

    Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    What's output to /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when you encounter the 500 error code in your browser?

    Thank you.
     
  6. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nothing inside of /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when you encounter the 500 error code in my browser.

    But in the local error_log there is this

    [11-Apr-2017 20:54:11 UTC] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 262144 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 5120 bytes) in /home/user/public_html/init.php on line 41
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried increasing the PHP memory limit for the account using cPanel's MultiPHP INI Editor option? It's documented at:

    MultiPHP INI Editor for cPanel - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  8. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is set 256M for the longest time now.
     
  9. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just increased it to 512M and it works now
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  10. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    With that issue resolved now.

    I do not have to use SuPHP due to the SuPHP can slow down things because it lacks performance.

    Also with PHP-FPM on or off. Even though I heard good things about using PHP-FPM.

    With EA 3 I used my own customized selection. EA 4 is little different and so many options.

    My only question is which profile should I use for Performance and Security?

    I would like hear the thoughts on this from other Root Administrators and of course from the Staff of cPanel.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'll leave this thread open for feedback from other users, but I did want to note that as a general rule, you should customize whichever profile you decide to go with and then only enable an option if you need it. For each option that you select, make certain that you understand the functionality of the option and any security vulnerabilities that may come with it. Also, "WHM >> Security Advisor" is useful for finding security-related settings you may have missed.

    Thank you.
     
  12. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Quick question on the cPanel Default Profile.

    Can you use Zend OPcache option in side the customized cPanel Default Profile?

    Or should Zend OPcache left out?

    Would Zend OPcache option in side the customized cPanel Default Profile enabled improve speed and performance or not?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,171
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can customize a profile to include an additional option such as Zend OpCache, yes. The profile will alert you of conflicts (if any) that exist with packages that are already enabled in the profile. As far as performance, you can search the forums for the term "opcache" to see reports from other users who have enabled this feature.

    Thank you.
     
  14. Pankaj K

    Pankaj K Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have personally used cPanel default profile + opcache + PHP FPM and it yields great results.
     
  15. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am just throwing this out to get suggestions on the best configuration in EasyApache 4.


    Currently I have 4 Core CPU and 4 GB Ram. In the next 2 to 8 weeks I will be upgrading memory 8 GB on each of my web servers. All servers are running on CentOS 7.x now. I also only use PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.x for all servers.


    I am looking for the follow below

    High Performance

    Security

    Memory and CPU load stability

    Flexibility for website code and customization


    When I had EasyApache 3 I had no issues with memory and CPU loads but not great performance due to SuPHP at the time.

    EasyApache 4 is somewhat different and I just want to get feedback from cPanel and everyone else on which profiles below would best fit the needs. SuPHP seems to have a few restrictions on users can do for customizing say like htacesss and other things for their websites.


    All PHP Options + OpCache


    All PHP Options + ZendGuard


    cPanel Default


    cPanel Default + MPM ITK
     
Loading...

Share This Page