The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Accelerated vs. VPS Optimized

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ashworth102680, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. ashworth102680

    ashworth102680 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I installed a cPanel trial license on top of the VPS I setup, but I don't see the "VPS Optimized" in the top left of WHM...like I normally would. Will a VPS license still work? Did I install the wrong cPanel somehow?!

    I just couldn't figure out why this new VPS says "WHM Accelerated" in the top left, while my other VPS servers that use cPanel say "VPS Optimized".

    I'm also curious if I've installed the "dedicated" version of cPanel...if that means my VPS is going to be hurting for resources at some point.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The docs state the following...

    "cPanel/WHM automatically detects whether it is being installed on a dedicated or virtual
    server, and installs the appropriate optimization of cPanel/WHM accordingly."


    What I don't understand is this. Both of these servers are running the exact same hardware, same VPS type, same RAM, same processor number, and same disk configuration...at the same host. So how the installer could do it differently for each of them is beyond me.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please post the output from the following command on both servers that you referenced:

    Code:
    grep -H '' /etc/redhat-release /usr/local/cpanel/version /var/cpanel/envtype
    Thank you.
     
  3. ashworth102680

    ashworth102680 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi Michael -

    Here is the information you requested. Thanks!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Here's what I see currently, even though this is a VPS:

    - Bad Link Removed -
     
    #3 ashworth102680, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2014
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your image link was posted incorrectly and so was removed. Feel free to attach to your post instead.
     
  5. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    cPanel will detect if you are on a VPS or standard server. It looks like you're using a VPS so you should be ready to go forth and start hosting.

    Thanks!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You provided the output from one of the servers. Could you post the output of the command I referenced from the other server? This should help clarify why cPanel detected a different environment on the other.

    Thank you.
     
  7. tndrbx

    tndrbx Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm seeing the same thing on my two VPS boxes. I found a few posts like this one that make mention of it, but none of them have a solution. I'm in the process of moving from a managed solution to an unmanaged VPS, so I'm using a trial on the unmanaged box to make sure everything works. On my old (managed) box, the logo says VPS Optimized 3. On the new (unmanaged) box, it says Accelerated 2.

    Old box:
    /etc/redhat-release:CentOS release 5.10 (Final)
    /usr/local/cpanel/version:11.42.1.20
    /var/cpanel/envtype:xen hvm

    New box:
    /etc/redhat-release:CentOS release 6.5 (Final)
    /usr/local/cpanel/version:11.44.0.17
    /var/cpanel/envtype:xen hvm

    For the life of me, I can't figure it out.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's normal to see "Accelerated" in WHM when using a trial license. It should update to "VPS Optimized" after purchasing the license and updating cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
  9. tndrbx

    tndrbx Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So is it not running the VPS Optimized edition of the software then? If not, how do I know from this trial that the software will perform similarly after I purchase a license?
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Plans & Pricing | cPanel, Inc.

    Licensing FAQ

    Difference between cPanel/WHM® Dedicated and VPS licensing

    • cPanel/WHM® Dedicated: The standard version is designed to be installed on a full dedicated server, which allocates 100% of it’s hardware to the operations of that machine.
    • cPanel/WHM VPS: VPS Optimized 2 version is designed to be within an environment running such virtualization software as listed on: System Requirements | cPanel, Inc.. Both products have the same features, but the cPanel/WHM Optimized 2 version simply optimizes the install configuration to make the best use of memory and processors on a virtualized environment.
     
  11. tndrbx

    tndrbx Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Right, I'm aware of the differences between the two. But I wanted to run a trial of the VPS Optimized edition on my box to make sure it has the performance I need without being a resource hog. That's the part I needed to trial, not CPanel's features. I'm familiar with all that, I know that's what I need. So my question again, hoping someone can answer it without just copying and pasting an answer:

    So is it not running the VPS Optimized edition of the software then? If not, how do I know from this trial that the software will perform similarly after I purchase a license?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ouch.

    The software will perform the same. Trial or otherwise.
     
Loading...

Share This Page