The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Accelerated ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chrismfz, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. chrismfz

    chrismfz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just saw it today in WHM... What is that mean ?

    Is something similar to VPS Optimized or something ?
    Didnt touch anything... Just login after an update and saw it there...

    WHM Accelerated and not just WHM in the top logo....
     
  2. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
  3. chrismfz

    chrismfz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yeap, I saw it :)

    x3 improvements, email / dns / backup improvements etc :) Good stuff but I have 2
    questions:

    1)Is this DNS change critical ? It's a small difference of memory and I dont believe that
    someone will host 3200 zones in the same server as the memory consumption benchmark....

    2) Would we ever see an "Optimized" version of Apache httpd ?
    Or a feaute in EasyApache or WHM to "clever / intelligent" optimize the
    KeepAlive, MIn/Max Servers, SpareServers and Childs and other stuff
    like Lookups to optimize apache from WHM ?

    Till now the only feature I see is the RLimit Ram and CPU..,
     
  4. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nothing is critical. These are improvements, not exactly new features. So if you are happy with how your server is performing with bind and courier, you can continue to use them.

    I have no answer to the 2nd, but we already do optimize it for our own managed dedicated clients, and most of our work is done on shell. so the additional interface in WHM is not an exciting thing to me.
     
  5. bmcniff01

    bmcniff01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How would one switch to NSD and Dovecot? Is there a tool within WHM to do that?

    [Yes, I am on EDGE release tree]
     
  6. chopperb

    chopperb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    1. Service Configuration->Nameserver Selection
    2.Service Configuration->Mailserver Selection
     
  7. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Has anyone encountered problems switching over to the new nameserver & mail server system?

    e.g., are clients complaining about connection issues, not able to send email, certificate not recognized, etc.?

    Given that 11.24.0 killed Apache on one of my boxes this morning, I'm a little gun-shy about switching to new systems......... :rolleyes: 11.24.0 hasn't exactly been friendly to me this week.

    :D Bailey
     
  8. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The only issue so far has been the fact that NSD do not work with our Nagios check_dns plugin since it doesn't do recursive checks and we have too many servers to customize per server based on a domain on the server. Also since all our servers are using clustered dns, which NSD do not work with, NSD is not of use for our own servers. But for some client standalone servers, it works fine.

    The actual conversion seems fine.

    My issue so far seems to be in "Service Manager". Somehow Cpanel decided to hide services it thinks is not enabled. And it's always wide off the mark. But I have a work around for it.

    Other issues are clients complaining that their old emails seems to pop up again. We had the same issue a few years back in the mbox2maildir conversions so I figured it's probably something similar.

    If you have previously customized the connection limits, you may want to check your servers after upgrading to Dovecot. It goes back to the default for Dovecot and you would need to increase the limits again if you have a busy server. Certificates is imported, but if you have an issue, you can always just reinstall it.

    So far Apache seems fine though. We built a bunch of boxes today to upgrade to http 2.2.10 and no issues have been encountered so far.

    All in all, for a major release, it's more stable than some others in the past.
     
  9. atwab

    atwab Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I upgraded to the CURRENT Release (ftp is broken)

    I upgraded to the CURRENT Release This morning and Everything was working, except I think that it actually slowed down the WHM/cPanel Interface response time. Too Slow in fact.

    Major Issue: FTP doesn't work... users can log in, but are not getting there directory listings??

    Anyone else with this problem??

    Adam Vallee
    adamvallee.com
     
  10. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Update:

    Tonight's build appears to solve the "Service Manager" problem described above
     
  11. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Your issue sounds like a passive / active mode issue. Make sure you configure your FTP to use a port range for passive connections. This was one area that Cpanel neglected all along in their FTP setup and configuration. Then make sure your firewall has those ports opened.

    Are you using pure-ftpd? Edit /etc/pure-ftpd.conf.

    Uncomment:

    PassivePortRange


    And put in the ports you want opened. The first variable is the starting port and the 2nd is the ending port of the range. Now restart your FTP server.

    As mentioend above, make sure the same ports are opened in your firewall to all for ingress.
     
  12. bmcniff01

    bmcniff01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Switching from BIND seems to be a bad idea right now as that actually broke DNS altogether for me.
     
  13. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is probably due to malformed zones. NSD is less forgiving. In any case, you can easily switch back.

    Make sure you do a check after switching to make sure it's working, example:

    dig DOMAIN_ON_SERVER.COM @IP_OF_SERVER
     
  14. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The new version is said to fix bugs in DNS clustering. (I can confirm that there are serious issues with that.)

    Does this mean that the cPanel DNS Only version will also be upgraded with the bug fixes? It wouldn't accomplish much if part of the cluster is still running on defective code (e.g., the DNS Only version).

    If DNS Only is also being upgraded, when?
     
  15. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've upgraded to the latest CURRENT release, but it's not 11.24. How do I get it?
     
  16. markb14391

    markb14391 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Never mind, I upgraded to the latest EDGE and got it.
     
  17. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Current should get you 11.24. Try a /scripts/upcp --force

    Just found a new problem. "Manage service ssl certificates" seems broken for FTP and Dovecot. Regardless of how many times I try to reinstall our purchased certificates (without errors or issues), it still lists it as being a self-signed certificate.
     
  18. bmcniff01

    bmcniff01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After the issues I experienced with NSD I switched to the Current Release tree. It is 11.23 so, How would I change to BIND again with that?
     
  19. Intekhab

    Intekhab Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I switched to NSD and sounds like it broke my DNS!

    Anyone else having similar issue?

    Note that I am not using clustered DNS.
     
  20. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    During the conversions, did it list any errors when it restarts NSD? You may have some zones that needs fixing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page