The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Access set up with WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Morphious, Jun 24, 2004.

  1. Morphious

    Morphious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    How is it possible, if I don't have root access, to create a new account (with WHM) and let that user also have WHM?
     
  2. coastinc

    coastinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You have to set them up with Reseller permissions.

    If you require further assistance, just drop us an e-mail.
     
  3. Morphious

    Morphious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Do you need a certain option to do that? You see, I don't run the server so I don't have root access - but my host lets me resell the hosting. He has to set up all accounts that want WHM but since he's not online as much as I am, I'd like to take care of that. I've already talked to him about it but I don't know how to make it so that people have WHM without having him set it up.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You can't. The cpanel setup doesn't allow resellers to create resellers. There's been much discussion about this lately and we have people going both ways, (should and shouldn't be allowed), but one thing that was noticed is that most of those who said it should be allowed are resellers, and most who don't want it are server owners. The reason, if our resellers were also able to create resellers, who knows how many levels deep it can go and how many problems it can cause.

    If you have a client who wants to be a reseller, you will have to have your provider set him up.

    As a general rule, if someone has many accounts and the need for reseller ability, it's probably time to go dedicated.
     
  5. Morphious

    Morphious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    I think that there should be an option to allow resellers to make more resellers - this way both the server owners and the resellers are happy :)
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I don't think so either because I want full control over what goes on my server. Reseller accounts aren't yet being offered through my business but will be soon, and even then, I will not want resellers to be able to create resellers. If they don't want to manage their own server, I would just suggest they get a managed server, which we will also be offering in the near future.
     
  7. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't see the problem. If cPanel were setup to allow resellers to add sub-resellers. It's not really all that different than resellers creating accounts in the first place. Of course like any feature the ability to turn it off remains with root. Bottom line is that if it's there, you can choose either to use it or not.
     
Loading...

Share This Page