The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whm and dnsonly together

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fxs, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    Lets say : n1 is a normal server (cpanel/11.49– centos6.5 –e51650v2-RAM 64-2x480 ssd)
    Lets say : n2 is a secondary dns server (dnsonly/11.49 – centos6.5 –e51629-RAM 32-2x3To sata3)
    beside dnsonly (server n2) I would like to add a panel with websites. the panel should be off the most of the time because it will use only when n1 will be out of order
    Does it make sense?
    With ns2 is there a way to have dnsonly and a panel (cpanel ?) that run together ?

    Regards
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you clarify what type of configuration you are attempting to setup? For instance, are you seeking to setup a failover or mirror server so that it servers your websites and not just DNS in the event the cPanel server is down?

    Thank you.
     
  3. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Due to problems with DC, we need a secondary DNS server (that is actual DNSonly on n2).

    In the normal situation (i.e. the server n1 works normally), the server n2 is setup like a secondary server dns (that's the setup today: n1 cpanel/whm, n2 DNSonly are already installed).

    When the server n1 is down, the server n2 should be used like a "troubleshooting server" i.e failover or mirror server. In this event, Dns only should stay on the server n2. So that question rises: with n2 is it possible to have DNSonly+Cpanel working ? if not DNSonly+other panel?
    regards
    thkx
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is discussed on the following thread:

    Best way to have failover/backup?

    If it's purely DNS you are seeking to have redundancy for, then the DNS-Only machine would serve DNS requests if the first server went down. However, website content would not appear unless you changed the DNS to point to a new host.

    Thank you.
     
  5. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    The question is the following : On server n2, is it possible to set up the full version WHM/cpanel like a dns secondary server (i.e. dnsonly) in one given time and like a normal panel in other time given.
    if yes, what is the config?
    thkx
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you can install cPanel instead of cPanel DNS-Only and add it as a member of a DNS cluster. However, keep in mind that you are only clustering DNS, and not other services such as Apache.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page