The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM and Locked Out

Discussion in 'Security' started by GaryT, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Three times this has happened to me !

    Yeah its doing a fine JOB but it locks me out. Its starting to p**s me off now - Any suggestions - I can still get SSH access though !
     
    #1 GaryT, Jul 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  2. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    Is it cPHulk Brute Force Protection locking you out of the machine? If so, you can add your IP into WHM > CPHulk Brute Force Protection area's Trusted IP List (it's a link on that page). If your IP is trusted, you shouldn't be locked out again by it.

    If this isn't cPHulk but LFD via CSF blocking you on the machine, then you simply would again whitelist your IP on it using this command in root SSH:

    Code:
    csf -a IP#
    You'd replace IP# with your actual IP number. If you aren't certain which IP you are connecting from, you can visit a site like http://whatismyip.com and it will show you what your IP happens to be.
     
  3. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you for the VERY FAST reply / support.

    I will try this now but MY Ip changes daily
     
  4. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    If your IP changes daily but stays in a similar range, you could whitelist the range instead:

    74.74.74.0/24

    Something like that should probably work there if your IP were normally in the 74.74.74. range but only the last octet keeps changing.
     
  5. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That command worked a treat - So I guess judging by that brute force is working fine - But yes I did get that on WHM screen - It says brute force was detected.
     
  6. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    Great to hear that worked for you :)

    Yes, it is definitely working well to block out the users who aren't whitelisted trying to hit that set account.
     
  7. GaryT

    GaryT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    shame WHM root user cant be changed :(

    Your fast help towards me was highly appreciated !
     
  8. Miraenda

    Miraenda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coralville, Iowa USA
    You are very welcome. I'm glad I could be of assistance :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page