The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Backup - is it ok to use /home/backup as dest?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by parisi, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. parisi

    parisi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a server with two 750GB drives mirrored and all the space is on home. Is it ok to set my backup destination to /home/backup?

    I see this note in the backup UI and it made me stop and ask:

    Backup Destination (this should be a directory/NFS/Coda mount with at least twice the space of all your /home* partitions. Setting this to /home is a very bad idea.)

    Here is my drive configuration:


    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5 8123168 757204 6946672 10% /
    /dev/sda8 677937172 53491464 589452928 9% /home
    /dev/sda6 1019208 40412 926188 5% /tmp
    /dev/sda3 8123200 3939372 3764532 52% /usr
    /dev/sda2 10154020 998140 8631760 11% /var
    /dev/sda1 124427 17010 100993 15% /boot
    tmpfs 1032884 0 1032884 0% /dev/shm


    Any advice would be appreciated
     
  2. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Using /home/bakups for CPPACKUPS--Dont

    Hi,
    Even though you have plenty of disk space on that /home partition, and that partition is mirrored, I'd advise strongly against using it for your cpbackups location.

    Because:

    If your /home partition gets nuked, the mirror also gets nuked too, if it's a real mirror.

    If you want to perform the backups on a local hard drive, (not using the FTP/remote optios), my recommendation is to slap an additional hard drive in the server and utilize that for your cpbackups location.

    Hard drives are cheap these days.

    Besides, you can always down the server for a few minutes and swap out that spare hard drive with another every now and then, keeping one of the spares in safe place.


    I hope I have been helpful.
    Drake Pallister
     
  3. parisi

    parisi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    These are excellent points. However, the server we have only has space for two hard disks. So given that constraint, is it ok to use the home directory?

    I also plan to have a second backup to an offsite location via RSync.
     
  4. yoseman

    yoseman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello I have a similar question,

    My system have 2 mounted disks, but the second one, was mounted a month ago.


    Code:
    	Device        	Size 	Used 	Available 	Percent Used 	Mount Point
    	/dev/sda1 	99M 	28M 	67M 	30% 	/boot
    	/dev/sda3 	228G 	16G 	201G 	8% 	/
    	/dev/sdb1 	230G 	196M 	218G 	1% 	/home2
    	/tmp 	485M 	11M 	449M 	3% 	/var/tmp
    	/usr/tmpDSK 	485M 	11M 	449M 	3% 	/tmp
    
    Is there a problem If I use home2/backup as Backup Destination?

    I had read the documentation here, http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/view/AllDocumentation/WHMDocs/ConfigBackup

    It's recommended to remount the drive before use it to backup?

    I put that I had understand after read the documentation:

    edit /etc/fstab (I suppose this file is in the /dev/sdb1)

    change line similar to /dev/sdb1 /backup ext3 defaults,usrquota,noexec 0 0

    run this:

    mount -o remount,noexec /backup

    configure Backup Destination to /backup.

    Is this correct?, sorry me, but My english is very bad, and want to confirm before do something erronous.



    Thanks, I'm a little lost with this.
     
    #4 yoseman, Mar 24, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    While it may be technically possible; it is not recommended to use a partition such as /home where file system quotas are enabled, and generally not recommended to use the same drive where the OS is installed (or where the home directory is stored).

    I recommend using either a secondary drive or at least a separate partition that does not have file system quotas enabled; if using only a separate partition on the same drive as /home or the OS then an alternate, remote backup method is highly recommended to minimize the risk of data loss in the event of a hardware failure.
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If /home2 is not used for any accounts yet then it may be unmounted, formatted, and then remounted as a backup drive. Before considering this please double check if any user home directories are stored within /home2.

    I recommend escalating the request to on-site data center staff as they are well equipped to assist with tasks relating to drive installation and maintenance, including formatting and modifying mount points.
     
Loading...

Share This Page