WHM Backups - Doesn't delete older backups to make room for new ones

telakos

Feb 9, 2022
Greece
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello all! Nice to be here, I'm very new to cpanel / whm server management.

We have a VPS at work and I have configured WHM to take backups for all cpanel users, it was working fine just before it stopped taking backups, after generating a number of backups for each user everyday, it just got stuck.

It seems to me that the problem is that it doesn't delete older backups in order to be able to generate new ones.

Needless to say that I generate backups manually every day for each user which is a pain in the #)$(

There has to be a tick somewhere in backup settings that says "DELETE OLDER BACKUPS TO MAKE ROOM FOR NEW ONES" but I don't seem to find...

What am I missing here?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

quietFinn

Feb 4, 2006
Finland
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
The setting is in WHM -> Backup -> Backup Configuration -> Daily Backup -> Enter the number of daily backups that you wish to keep in the system at one time

Reactions: telakos

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Your issue could be what @quietFinn said, or it could also be a problem with the backups failing. If a backup fails for some reason it would only prune older backups if the "strictly enforce backup retention" option is enabled.

Are you getting any errors from the backup system? If not, then adjusting the number of daily backups to keep is likely the solution.

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
For the daily backups, that is a total retention number. Think of that number as "how many sets of backups will exist after the backups have completed and been pruned"

"1" would leave you with the most current daily backup. "7" would leave you with an entire week's worth of daily backups.

telakos

Feb 9, 2022
Greece