The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM backups without having twice the disk space available

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Bandwise, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. Bandwise

    Bandwise Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I need to make a remote backup of a VPS with 180GB total and 110GB used. My understanding is that using FTP type backups, I would need twice the space in order to store the backup file locally prior to FTPing the file to the remote server. So I am now investigating "Standard" backups using a remotely mounted share.

    However in WHM under Backups I read "Backup Destination (this should be a directory/NFS/Coda mount with at least twice the space of all your /home* partitions.)

    Am I to understand correctly that I would need twice the space with either FTP or Standard backups? What would be the best way to execute a cPanel backup of this VPS? Thanks!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might try doing one backup at a time and move a few accounts off this server. That said, cPanel does not backup all accounts and then move them to the remote FTP backup it backs up one, moves it and then backs up the next, moves it.
     
  3. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What uses more server resources the backup it's self or the moving of the backup to the remote host?

    While moving that one file to the remote server has another backup started at that time or does it wait until
    that one file is completely moved before starting the next backup file?

    Also does the backup go to a directory on the same server called something like cpbackuptmp and once compressed then moves to the remote server leaving that directory empty when done?

    Thanks
    Charles
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Charles,

    The backup itself uses far more server resources than the FTP of the account after being backed up.

    The FTP of the account happens before another account is backed up. You can view the backup logs at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup to see how the backup is done. The log indicates what order backups are done and that the FTP of the just backed up account occurs before proceeding to the next account backup.

    The backup goes to a directory on the server for packaging. Once packaged in that directory, it is then FTP'ed to the other machine. The directory contents are temporary and should be cleared after the account has been FTP'ed to the remote server.

    Thanks!
     
  5. crshep

    crshep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks. I was just trying to learn how this backup thing worked and you explained it to me perfectly. Thanks again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page