The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHM Bandwidth Still Not Right . . .

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PbG, Aug 1, 2003.

  1. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last month WHM recorded a fraction of bandwidth recorded in Bandmin. This month WHM is recording more bandwidth than are recorded in Bandmin.

    C'mon guys you gotta get this one right. I have checked Bandmin and WHM twice this morning. First report WHM showed 3.35GB while Bandmin only showed 2.24GB. I checked again 2 hours later in case Bandmin was behind the times and found WHM reporting 6.35GB and Bandmin reporting 4.42GB. Something's not stirring the kool aid Nick/Josh.

    How can WHM be recording 97% of all traffic and exceeding the 100% reported by Bandmin???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The bandwidth bugs have been around since Cpanels inception. How many years is that now? Ensim, Plesk can write bandwidth programs that work. Cpanel cant. Figure that one out.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Re: Re: WHM Bandwidth Still Not Right . . .

    Whine whine, sexy_guy. As usual.

    Why compare WHM and Bandmin?

    Why don't you go compare say, WHM and AWStats on a site that uses mostly web traffic.

    I've done that and my sites always match up. I haven't seen any discrepancies.

    If this is a real thing, it should be looked at. But why are only say, 2 or 3 people complaining about this out of what, a gazillion cpanel users? I wonder.

    :D

    Brenden

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: Re: WHM Bandwidth Still Not Right . . .

    Obviously you havent been around long enough to know. Try reading the forums sometime. We compare what WHM says was our bandwidth usage with our Noc, Mrtg monthy and its off by gigabytes every month.


    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #4 sexy_guy, Aug 1, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2003
  5. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    How do you compare WHM bandwidth usage to mrtg? On average what is 100 gig on a mrtg graph for one month.

    Mike

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: Re: Re: WHM Bandwidth Still Not Right . . .

    Actually I expect that WHM would be off by 3% of what my DC/NOC mrtg/Bandmin reports. What I don't expect is that WHM will be more than the Bandmin report. WHM is limited to a maximum of 97% of all traffic. Therefore it defies logic and is probably incorrect when it exceeds the amount recorded in Bandmin.

    Minimally one of the two reports are incorrect. Hell even you should be able to see that thru all that rageddy ann hair Taz lol

    By the way Sexy is also right that bandwidth bugs are frequently discussed on this forum. Even Cp has admitted to receiving numerous complaints/reports of inaccurate bandwidth.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: WHM Bandwidth Still Not Right . . .

    which cpanel version are you using?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Is it possible you guys are mucking up the bandmin IP tables with a firewall script?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All things are possible but I do not have a firewall script running.

    WHM 7.2.0 cPanel 7.2.1-R108


    Latest figures:

    WHM 9.31GB
    Bandmin 8.84GB


    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #9 PbG, Aug 1, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2003
  10. PbG

    PbG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    July Bandwidth

    Anyone else who had huge differences between bandwidth recorded in Bandmin and WHM should check their users stats via webalizer/awstats in July. A weekend audit recovered a bill due for 40GB in overage from one of our clients.

    It also showed where the other 200GB not recorded in WHM went. Fortunately the remaining clients did not exceed their plans/

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page